Now Australia's Biggest Toy Shop

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Magic Band, Vol. 2

Album: Magic Band, Vol. 2
# Song Title   Time
1)    On a Clear Day You Can See Forever
2)    One Note Samba
3)    Alone Together
4)    Angel Eyes
5)    Milestones
6)    Giant Steps
7)    Dolphin Dance
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Howard Roberts (guitar); John Gross, Pete Christlieb, Tom Scott (tenor saxophone); Dave Grusin (piano); John Guerin (drums).
  • Liner Note Author: Whitey Mitchell.
  • Recording information: Donte's, Los Angeles, CA (05/1968).
  • Because he chose to spend nearly his entire career as a studio guitarist, there are relatively few recorded examples of Howard Roberts as a bop-oriented jazz player. This 1998 CD has seven privately recorded performances of Roberts at the legendary Donte's club in Los Angeles during May 1968. He stretches out on seven jazz standards with the assistance of pianist Dave Grusin (a few years before he started becoming well-known), bassist Chuck Berghofer, and drummer John Guerin. In addition to four quartet numbers (including "On a Clear Day" and "Alone Together"), Roberts is joined on "Milestones" by tenor saxophonist John Gross, on a burning "Giant Steps" by the young Tom Scott on tenor, and on "Dolphin Dance" by both Scott and fellow tenor Pete Christlieb, who at one point get involved in a saxophone battle. The recording quality is listenable, if not flawless, but the music (which shows that Roberts could jam with the best of them) is somewhat valuable. ~ Scott Yanow
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Jazz » Jazz Instrument » Guitar
This title is unavailable for purchase as none of our regular suppliers have stock available. If you are the publisher, author or distributor for this item, please visit this link.
Back to top