Absolutely Australia's Lowest Prices

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range


Album: March
# Song Title   Time
1)    March
2)    Instant Pussy
3)    Smoke Signals
4)    Part of the Dance
5)    No 'alf Measures
6)    Lything and Gracing
7)    Waterloo Lily
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Matching Mole: Robert Wyatt (vocals, drums); Phil Miller (guitar); Dave McCrae (keyboards); Bill McCormick (bass).
  • Recorded live in March 1972.
  • Personnel: Robert Wyatt (vocals, drums); Phil Miller (guitar); Dave MacRae (electric piano).
  • Audio Remasterers: Miki Dandy; Michael King .
  • Liner Note Author: Robert Wyatt.
  • Recording information: Europe (03/1972).
  • Editors: Miki Dandy; Michael King .
  • Photographer: Tom Recchion.
  • March is the second live Matching Mole set issued by Cuneiform about 30 years after the event, following 2001's Smoke Signals. The good news is that this disc, taken from a European concert from March 1972, has a track lineup different enough from Smoke Signals to make it worthwhile for Matching Mole fans. That's particularly so since the sound quality is very good, up to the standards of official live albums (and, in fact, better than numerous official live albums, especially from the early '70s). Six of the seven songs are versions of compositions from their two studio releases, the seventh selection being a surprise cover of fellow Canterbury act Caravan's "Waterloo Lily." As for other major surprises in either the song choices or the arrangements, there aren't any, but it's very well-played, energetically brash progressive rock/fusion, about as cerebral and serious as any music with which Robert Wyatt's been involved. It's also almost wholly instrumental, though Wyatt occasionally contributes some nearly wordless avant-garde vocals. At times he sounds like a bird shrieking in its death throes in "Instant Pussy"; his jazzy scat singing on "No 'Alf Measures" is easier on the ear. ~ Richie Unterberger
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Jazz » Jazz Instrument » Fusion
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling March on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top