SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

Turn your Clutter Into Cash with SmartSell.TM Book a Courier Pickup Today!

Marrabenta Music from Mozambique

Album: Marrabenta Music from Mozambique: Yinguica
# Song Title   Time
1)    Vou Morrer Assim' [I'll Die This Way!]
2)    Mine A Uni Tendere [You Don't Care About Me]
3)    Dabula Na Mutamulani
4)    Khoma [Touch, Touch]
5)    Ni Nhi Me Le [Let Me Walk With You]
6)    Tekani A Va Tsongwana [Take The Children Out]
7)    Eliza We [Eliza]
8)    Xingwavilani
9)    Yinguica (Escuta) [Listen!]
10)    Moda Xicavalo
11)    Teresano
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Bernaldo Honwana, Julio Sigauque (vocals, guitar); Tony Paco (drums, percussion); Helder Gonzaga (shaker); Barry Van Zyl (percussion).
  • Liner Note Author: Robin Hogarth.
  • Recording information: Street Level Studios, Cape Town, South Africa.
  • Photographers: Barry Van Zyl; Carol Hogarth; Robin Hogarth.
  • Translators: Jeannine Blanpain; Ute Entwistle.
  • Marrabenta is the music of Mozambique, originally the sound of the underclass, but now very much of the nation as a whole. Low-key and joyful, it's a little like the palm wine music of West Africa, laid-back and welcoming, acoustic and friendly. Even at its most extroverted, with a full band, as on "Eliza We" and "Mode Xicavalo," it doesn't manage more than a lope; this definitely isn't music for galloping, but for the warm afternoons and evenings. YINGUICA kicks off with Bernard Honwana, one of marrabenta's giants--his father also played the style--on a gentle, lulling piece, "Vou Morrer Assim'," and only very slowly moves up through the gears. The relaxed ambience, right down to conversation, laughter, and the clink of beer bottles, makes it a homegrown pleasure that's worth repeated listenings, both to take it in and to create an instant soft party atmosphere as background.
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » World Music » General
People also searched for
This title is unavailable for purchase as none of our regular suppliers have stock available. If you are the publisher, author or distributor for this item, please visit this link.
Back to top