Download the Free Fishpond App!
Download on the App Store

Android App on Google play
A Medieval Christmas

Already own it?

Sell Yours
Home » Music » Pop » Christmas

A Medieval Christmas

Artist: Boston Camerata/Joel Cohen (Early Music)

Free shipping Australia wide
Ships from USA
Order Now for Christmas with e-Gift
Register or sign-in to rate and get recommendations.
Label: Elektra (Label)
Album: A Medieval Christmas
# Song Title   Time
1)    Isaiah's Prophecy, reading (Anon. Hebrew) / Iudicii signum (Sibyl's Chant) (Anon. Catalan)
2)    Adest sponsus, conductus
3)    Oiet, virgines (Gabriel's Prophecy)
4)    Domino, clausula
5)    Conditor alme siderum, hymn (Plainchant) / Verbum caro factum est, lauda (Anon. Italian)
6)    On frymde w?s Word, reading (Old Saxon) / Iudea et Iherusalem, organum (Anon. French)
7)    Gedeonis area, conductus
8)    O moder mayde, reading
9)    Ave maris stella, hymn (Plainchant) / O Maria, deu Marie (Anon. Proven?al)
10)    Ave Maria, prosa
11)    Gaude Maria, responsory (Plainchant) / Joseph, liber nefe min (Anon. German)
12)    Congaudet hodie, conductus (Anon. Catalan) / In dulci jubilo, refrain (Anon. Dutch) / In dulci jubilo, hymn (Anon. German)
13)    Hand by hand we shule us take, reading
14)    Lux hodie...Orientis partibus, conductus

Performer Notes
  • This recording is also available as part of a 3-disc set, Nonesuch 79303: "With Joyful Voice - Christmas Music of Eight Centuries". These performances are also available on Cassette: Nonesuch 1315.
  • Personnel: Joel Cohen (baritone, lute, oud); Barbara Lakeburg, Deborah Prince, Laurie Monahan (soprano); David Griesinger, John Clark (tenor); Charles Rhodes (countertenor); Tim Aarest (baritone, shawm, recorder); Peter Hunsberger, Mark Baker (baritone); Adrienne Hartzell (harp, vielle, bells); Alison Fowle (rebec); Nancy Joyce (flute, shawm, recorder); Kenneth Roth (shawm, recorder, organetto).
  • Liner Note Author: Joel Cohen .
  • Recording information: Museum Of Fine Arts, Boston, MA.
  • Director: Joel Cohen .
  • Photographer: Peter Hunsberger.
  • Reader: Nicholas Linfield.
  • Boston Camerata's Medieval Christmas is a challenging and resfreshing holiday album. Usually, when traditional or olde carols are performed, they are contemporized in some way. That's not the case with Medieval Christmas. Everything is given faithful arrangements and is performed faithfully. It's music that is strangely familiar and strangely foreign at the same time. The end result is an enchanting, entirely original holiday album worth investigating by any listener tired of the same-old same-old. ~ Rodney Batdorf

Format:CD (0 Disc); Stereo
Release Date:13 September, 1991
Tell a friend

Their Email:

Sell Yours

Already own this item?
Sell Yours and earn some cash. It's fast and free to list! (Learn More.)

Review this Product


Related Searches


Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners

You can earn a 5% commission by selling A Medieval Christmas on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep!



Are you the Author/Publisher? Improve sales by submitting additional information on this title.


This item ships from and is sold by, Inc.