SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Meet the Eels [Parental Advisory]

Album: Meet the Eels: Essential Eels 1996-2006, Vol. 1 [Digipak]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Novocaine For the Soul
2)    Susan's House
3)    My Beloved Monster
4)    Your Lucky Day in Hell
5)    3 Speed
6)    Last Stop: This Town
7)    Climbing to the Moon - (Jon Brion remix, previously unreleased)
8)    Flyswatter
9)    I Like Birds
10)    Mr. E's Beautiful Blues
11)    It's a Motherf#&!@R
12)    Souljacker Part 1
13)    That's Not Really Funny
14)    Fresh Feeling
15)    Get Ur Freak On
16)    Saturday Morning
17)    Love of the Loveless
18)    Dirty Girl - (live)
19)    I Need Some Sleep
20)    Hey Man (Now You're Really Living)
21)    I'm Going to Stop Pretending That I Didn't Break Your Heart
22)    Trouble With Dreams
23)    Railroad Man
24)    Losing Streak
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Eels: Julie Carpenter, Heather Lockie, Paloma Udovic, Ana Lenchantin, Grant-Lee Phillips, Jim Jacobsen, Joe Gore, Adam Siegel, John Parish, Jon Brion, Mark Goldenberg, Mark Oliver Everett, Ryan Boesch, T-Bone Burnett, Big Al, Jennifer Condos, Koool G Murder, Tommy Walter, Matt DeMerritt, Todd M. Simon, Butch.
  • Issued in 2008, MEET THE EELS celebrates Mark Oliver Everett's first decade recording under the Eels banner. Proceeding in semi-chronological order from 1996's BEAUTIFUL FREAK to '06's LIVE AT TOWN HALL, the collection touches on all the proudly quirky alt-pop performer's significant releases, spending plenty of time on his acclaimed '05 double album, BLINKING LIGHTS AND OTHER REVELATIONS.
  • In addition to previously unreleased tracks (most notably an elegant remix of "Climbing to the Moon" by fellow L.A.-based musician Jon Brion), standout tunes include the Beck-like college-rock-radio hit "Novocaine for the Soul," the wry folk ditty "I Like Birds," and the melancholy chamber-pop number "Trouble With Dreams," which all showcase the Eels' knack for oddball narratives and engaging melodies. Along with Sparklehorse's Mark Linkous, Everett (aka E) is one of the 21st century's few true pop eccentrics working under a major-label umbrella, and MEET THE EELS is an excellent introduction to his strange but undeniably intriguing sensibility.
  • DVD Features:
  • Videos:
  • 1. Novocaine For The Soul
  • 2. Susan's House
  • 3. Rags To Rags
  • 4. Your Lucky Day In Hell
  • 5. Last Stop: This Town
  • 6. Cancer For The Cure
  • 7. Flyswatter
  • 8. Souljacker Part 1
  • 9. Saturday Morning
  • 10. Hey Man (Now You're Really Living)
  • 11. Trouble With Dreams
  • 12. Dirty Girl (Live At Town Hall)
Professional Reviews
Uncut (p.88) - 5 stars out of 5 -- "[T]he sum reveals that Eels' seam of wry melancholy runs deeper than imagined."

Q (Magazine) (p.109) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "[V]eering wildly between rage and despair, but invariably underpinned by humanity. It's the perfect place to start."

Mojo (Publisher) (p.122) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "MEET THE EELS nuggets such as 'Susan's House' stand as fine examples of cut 'n' paste pop a la Beck..."

Blender (Magazine) (p.87) - 3.5 stars out of 5 -- "[T]he music is intimate, full of acoustic guitars and Hollywood soundtrack inflections."

Clash (magazine) (p.110) - "[T]he music remains very listenable and always engaging. From early classics 'Novocaine For The Soul' and 'Susan's House' we take a trip through some lesser known songs to 'Mr E's Beautiful Blues' and onwards."

Record Collector (magazine) (p.88) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "Somehow it manages to satisfy the most ardent fan and the casual listener....This is bracing stuff."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Meet the Eels: Essential Eels 1996-2006, Vol. 1 [Digipak] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top