Now Australia's Biggest Toy Shop

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Merry Christmas [Digipak]

Album: Merry Christmas [Digipak]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Sleigh Ride/Winter Wonderland
2)    Ain't Nothin' Like Christmas
3)    Christmas Time Is Here
4)    Silver Bells
5)    Christmastime's A-Coming
6)    O Holy Night
7)    Santa Clause Is Coming to Town
8)    Xmas
9)    Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer
10)    Silent Night
11)    White Christmas
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Shelby Lynne (vocals, acoustic guitar, electric guitar); John Jackson (acoustic guitar, electric guitar, slide guitar, percussion); Val McCallum (acoustic guitar, harmonica); Ben Peeler (steel guitar, lap steel guitar, mandolin); Jim Honeyman (flute, clarinet); Dave Koz (alto saxophone); David Palmer (piano, Wurlitzer organ); Marc Doten (upright bass); Gregg Field (drums).
  • Audio Mixer: Al Schmitt.
  • Recording information: Slideaway Studios, Sunland, CA; Wax Ltd, Hollywood, CA.
  • Photographer: Victory Tischler-Blue.
  • After releasing Tears, Lies & Alibis, her first self-produced, self-released album on her Everso imprint, singer and songwriter Shelby Lynne followed it up with her first Christmas offering. Its contents include eight beautifully arranged standards and a pair of originals. Lynne produced the set, and left its very live-in-the-studio feel in the mix. Guitarists John Jackson, Mike Ward, and Ben Peeler are right up front, cruising just under her trademark, throaty contralto. The charts for the opening medley, "Sleigh Ride/Winter Wonderland" and her own "Ain't Nothin' Like Christmas" are drenched in a combination of jump jazz and something approaching rockabilly. Marc Doten's upright bass is a slapping counterpart to the guitars and Gregg Field's stripped-down drum kit. Her reading of Vince Guaraldi's beautiful "Christmas Time" is a surprise, given its elegant restraint and the Buddy DeFranco-styled clarinet solo by Jim Honeyman. "Silver Bells" is given a decidedly down-home treatment thanks to slide guitar, mandolins, and a Weissenborn. Tex Logan's "Christmas Time's A-Comin'" is pure acoustic bluegrass stomp with a smokin mandolin solo. The two hymns here, "O Holy Night" and "Silent Night," are reverent and full of quiet drama, even if their instrumentation is unusual; the latter with a pedal steel. Both let Lynne's voice shine through unadorned with the exception of a small bit of reverb. The other original here, "X-Mas," is a melancholy, jazz-blues (with a guest sax solo by Dave Koz) paean to her own Christmas wish, whose opening lyrics are "Christmas makes me sad/And Daddy's bein' bad...." Those familiar with Lynne's biography will hear how chilling this is. That said, the song absolutely needed to be here. This is Lynne the poet, unflinchingly honest, reflecting, balancing the wide-open joy in performances of standards, from the retro swing of "Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer" to the seasonally and romantically teemed "Silver Bells" and "White Christmas," which make the case that the holiday is not necessarily a joyous one for some. As Christmas albums go, this one is showcase for Lynne's gifts as an interpretive singer and songwriter. It's enjoyable throughout, and the immediacy and warmth of the recording set it apart from the usual holiday fare. ~ Thom Jurek
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Merry Christmas [Digipak] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top