Absolutely Australia's Lowest Prices

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Midnight Boom *

Album: Midnight Boom *
# Song Title   Time
1)    U.R.A. Fever
2)    Cheap and Cheerful
3)    Tape Song
4)    Getting Down
5)    Last Day of Magic
6)    Hook and Line
7)    Black Balloon
8)    M.E.X.I.C.O.
9)    Sour Cherry
10)    Alphabet Pony
11)    What New York Used to Be
12)    Goodnight Bad Morning
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Audio Mixer: Tom Elmhirst.
  • Shuffling off the minimalist garage scuzz of their previous records, the Kills deliver a near visionary knock-out on their third full-length and Domino debut, MIDNIGHT BOOM. Like a marriage of Royal Trux and LCD Soundsystem, the half-British, half-American duo deconstruct rock riffs, rescrambling them into catchy sound shards and setting them atop driving club-ready rhythms. The result is a hyper-sexualized glam brew that trawls the gutters outside both the rock club and the discotheque.
  • Singer VV and guitarist Hotel engage in carnal vocal exchanges played out over breathy calls-to-arms and delectable hooks, making for one of the best trashy rock tandems since Karen O and Nick Zinner first plugged in. "I'm sick of social graces," VV sings on the stand-out anthem "Cheap and Cheerful" and judging by the introductory hacking cough that starts the track, one can take her at her word.
Professional Reviews
Spin (p.104) - 3.5 stars out of 5 -- "[T]he unsatisfied sneer of singer Alison Mosshart and the black-vinyl blooze riffs of guitarist Jamie Hince swagger with debauched ‚lan."

Entertainment Weekly (p.59) - "[T]heir octane-edged atmosphere remains: The dozen blues-rock dirges build hypnotically from the raw elements of stripped-down percussion, sludgy guitar riffs, and singing-through-a-dirty-gym-sock vocals."

Uncut (p.93) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "The Kills needed to pull something new out of their hat. Using crunched beats that owe more to hip hop/R&B than garage rock, adding bright white to their palette, they've done just that."

Q (Magazine) (p.108) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "[T]heir primal blues frequently reference a darker White Stripes, while Alison Mosshart's vocals echo an on-form PJ Harvey..."

Mojo (Publisher) (p.100) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "[With] elusive, intriguing, jagged slithers of melodic hook lingering on the taste buds. Their lyrics, too, are enigmatic...like jottings from a frazzled night owl's notebook."

Blender (Magazine) (p.80) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "Behind the pouts are riffs that could draw real blood and sharp, broken-down beats that in combination sound like a malfunctioning sampler chopping up Jack White."

URB (Magazine) (p.106) - 4.5 stars out of 5 -- "[T]he sultry burn of MIDNIGHT BOOM makes the duo seem more continental than ever....The duo's most accomplished release to date. An album that one suspects will age extremely well."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop
This title is unavailable for purchase as none of our regular suppliers have stock available. If you are the publisher, author or distributor for this item, please visit this link.
Back to top