Australasia's Biggest Online Store

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Millie Jackson [Bonus Tracks]

Album: Millie Jackson [Bonus Tracks]
# Song Title   Time
1)    If This Is Love
2)    I Ain't Giving Up
3)    I Miss You Baby
4)    Child of God, A (It's Hard to Believe)
5)    Ask Me What You Want
6)    My Man, A Sweet Man
7)    You're the Joy of My Life
8)    I Gotta Get Away (From My Own Self)
9)    I Just Can't Stand It
10)    Strange Things
11)    Little Bit of Something, A
12)    My Heart Took a Licking (But It Kept on Ticking)
13)    Untrue Men - (previously unreleased)
14)    I Don't Wanna Talk About It - (previously unreleased)
15)    Ask Me What You Want - (previously unreleased)
16)    You're the Joy of My Life - (previously unreleased, alternate take)
17)    My Man, A Sweet Man - (previously unreleased)
18)    I Just Can't Stand It - (previously unreleased)
19)    I Miss You Baby - (previously unreleased)
20)    Strange Things - (previously unreleased)
21)    Hypocrisy - (previously unreleased)
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Audio Remixers: Rob Keyloch; Tony Bongiovi.
  • Liner Note Author: Tony Rounce.
  • Recording information: Media Sounds, Inc, New York, NY; Track Studio, Washington DC.
  • Arrangers: Tony Camillo; Bert de Coteaux.
  • Millie Jackson's debut is one of the freshest albums of her career, her style remarkably mature and the sound an infectious blend of '60s soul influences (from Motown to Stax to early Philly soul). Jackson's just as tough and aggressively honest here as she would be on her breakout, 1974's Caught Up, and songs like "I Ain't Giving Up" and "I Miss You Baby" are of the same high caliber. She injects the perfect measure of anger and genuine confusion into the hypocrisy fable "A Child of God (It's Hard to Believe)" (her first R&B hit) and has no trouble switching gears for the affectionate "My Man, a Sweet Man," with a driving bassline and handclaps making direct connections to the classic Motown sound. The biggest hit here was another love song, the swinging "Ask Me What You Want," her second R&B Top Ten entry. Even though it never came together quite like Caught Up, Jackson's first LP introduced a major talent to the R&B world. ~ John Bush
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » R&B » General
Home » Music » Funk & Soul » Soul
People also searched for
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Millie Jackson [Bonus Tracks] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top