Absolutely Australia's Lowest Prices

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Monk's Dream [Bonus Tracks] [Remastered]

Album: Monk's Dream [Bonus Tracks] [Remastered]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Monk's Dream
2)    Body and Soul
3)    Bright Mississippi
4)    Five Spot Blues
5)    Blue Bolivar Blues (Ba-Lue-Bolivar-Ba-Lues-Are)
6)    Just a Gigolo
7)    Bye-Ya
8)    Sweet and Lovely
9)    Monk's Dream [Original Trio Vresion]
10)    Blue Bolivar Blues (Ba-Lue-Bolivar-Ba-Lues-Are) [Original 1956 Quintet Version]
11)    Just a Gigolo [Original 1954 Version]
12)    Bye-Ya [Original Trio Version]
13)    Sweet and Lovely [Original Trio Version]
14)    Body and Soul - (live)
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Thelonious Monk (piano); Charlie Rouse (tenor saxophone); John Ore (bass); Frankie Dunlop (drums).
  • Recorded at Columbia Studios, New York, New York in 1963. Includes liner notes by Peter Keepnews.
  • All tracks have been digitally remastered.
  • Personnel: Charlie Rouse (tenor saxophone); Thelonious Monk (piano); Frankie Dunlop (drums).
  • Liner Note Authors: Arnold Marcus; Pete Welding.
  • Recording information: New York (10/31/1962-11/06/1962).
  • These 1962 recordings were Thelonious Monk's first for Columbia Records, with whom he spent the most commercially successful years of his career. Mixing his own highly personalized renditions of standards with originals, this was a pattern he followed for all of his subsequent releases with the label. Of his originals, only "Bright Mississippi" had never been recorded before, but after decades of toiling in obscurity, the re-recording of tunes such as "Bolivar Blues" and "Bye-Ya" was most certainly warranted. This is in part because they'd not been heard before by most of his new and wide audience, and also because this quartet (with Charlie Rouse, John Ore and Frankie Dunlop) had been playing at this point for two years--longer than he'd ever been able to keep an ensemble together before--and they'd settled into Monk's music like one charismatic and multi-limbed being.
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Jazz » Jazz Instrument » Piano
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Monk's Dream [Bonus Tracks] [Remastered] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top