Download the Free Fishpond App!
Download on the App Store

Android App on Google play
Murmur [Import Bonus Tracks]

Already own it?

Sell Yours
Home » Music » Alternative

Murmur [Import Bonus Tracks]

Artist: R.E.M. (Recorded By)

Elsewhere $27.62 $24.97   Save 10%
Free shipping Australia wide
Ships from USA
Order now for Christmas delivery
Register or sign-in to rate and get recommendations.
Label: EMI Music Distribution
Album: Murmur [Import Bonus Tracks]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Radio Free Europe
2)    Pilgrimage
3)    Laughing
4)    Talk About the Passion
5)    Moral Kiosk
6)    Perfect Circle
7)    Catapult
8)    Sitting Still
9)    9-9
10)    Shaking Through
11)    We Walk
12)    West of the Fields
13)    There She Goes Again
14)    9-9 - (live)
15)    Gardening at Night - (live)
16)    Catapult - (live)

Performer Notes
  • R.E.M.: Michael Stipe (vocals); Peter Buck (guitar); Michael Mills (bass, background vocals); Bill Berry (drums).
  • Additional personnel: Jefferson Holt, Bertis Downs.
  • Recorded at Reflection, Charlotte, North Carolina in January 1983.
  • This Dutch import reissue includes four bonus live cuts.
  • Personnel: Michael Stipe (vocals); Peter Buck (guitar); Bill Berry (drums, percussion); Mike Mills (drums).
  • Audio Mixer: Mitch Easter.
  • Liner Note Author: Neil Bogan.
  • Recording information: Reflection, Charlotte, NC (01/??/1983-06/27/1984); Seattle, WA (01/??/1983-06/27/1984).
  • Unknown Contributor Roles: Jefferson Holt; Bertis Downs.
  • R.E.M.'s full-length debut is a landmark album that set the standard for the next 10 years of indie rock. The Athens quartet combined Byrdsy, folk-rock guitar jangle with obscurantist lyrics and a post-punk compositional sensibility to create a vibrant new sound that would soon be imitated by every high-school poet with a Rickenbacker guitar. R.E.M. was also one of the first bands to make the long, hard journey from college radio (when it was still college radio) to mainstream acceptance, and managed the difficult task of maintaining its integrity at every step along the way.
  • MURMUR, far from an embryonic debut, shows a fully-formed unit with a strong artistic vision. (It was preceded by two legendary underground releases: The "Radio Free Europe" single--which was re-recorded for MURMUR--and the CHRONIC TOWN EP.) Producers Mitch Easter and Don Dixon's lofty reputations would have remained intact even if they had never worked on another record after this one. The gentle-but-insistent arrangements and glorious pop hooks of songs like "Catapult" and "Talk About The Passion" provide the perfect contrast to Michael Stipe's earnest, moody vocal style. Drummer Bill Berry's breathless effervescence provides the perfect backdrop for this album of jumpy, intellectual pop.

Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone (p.96) - 5 stars out of 5 -- "[A]nthemic on a bedroom scale, danceable but not robotic, experimental without being oblique."

Rolling Stone (11/89) - Ranked #8 in Rolling Stone's "100 Best Albums Of The Eighties" survey.

Spin - Included in Spin's list of the Top Ten College Cult Classics - " unmitigated delight....spawned the entire breed of what has become known as `college rock'."

Entertainment Weekly (3/26/91) - Rating: A

Alternative Press (8/01, p.112) - Included in AP's "10 Essential '80s Albums" - "...REM made jangling guitars and mumbled lyrics hip again for American youth..."

CMJ (1/5/04, p.12) - Ranked #7 in CMJ's "Top 20 Most-Played Albums of 1983".

Q (Magazine) (p.120) - 5 stars out of 5 -- "MURMUR promised not so much a new American underground, as an undergrowth, rustling with secrets."

Mojo (Publisher) (p.118) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "MURMUR remains the cornerstone of the R.E.M. legend, the reason they are important....An incredible collection of songs..."

Blender (Magazine) (p.106) - 5 stars out of 5 -- "[D]isarmingly beautiful music that mixes '60s folk significance with '80s new-wave ambivalence."

Blender (Magazine) (p.67) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "MURMUR was a friendly ghost -- brooding but elegant, new-wave moody but folk-rock sunny, hesitant but hopeful."

Paste (magazine) (p.60) - "[T]heir sound emerged so fully formed that even after 26 years and 15 proper albums, it's still arguably their best."

Uncut (magazine) - 5 stars out of 5 -- "It is no exaggeration to suggest that MURMUR amounts to a Rosetta Stone for what is now thought of as indie rock..."

Producer:Don Dixon; Mitch Easter; R.E.M.
Format:CD (0 Disc); Stereo
Studio/Live: Studio
Release Date:1 January, 2004

Tell a friend

Their Email:

Sell Yours

Already own this item?
Sell Yours and earn some cash. It's fast and free to list! (Learn More.)

1 review(s)
All Reviews
Philip Morgan on
This is a classic album by REM, it has so many good songs on it, and lives up to its name, as Michael Stipe's voice is barely recognisable. My favourite songs are Talk about the Passion, Shaking Through, We Walk, and Radio Free Europe, but the rest of the songs are all good too. This album has an offbeat charm about it that set the tone for 80s indie rock, and stands out as one of the best REM albums.

Review this Product


Related Searches


Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners

You can earn a 5% commission by selling Murmur [Import Bonus Tracks] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep!



Are you the Author/Publisher? Improve sales by submitting additional information on this title.


This item ships from and is sold by, Inc.