SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

Sell Your Old Stuff for Cash. It's Easy & Free to List. Get Started Now.

The Muscle Shoals Recordings

Album: The Muscle Shoals Recordings
# Song Title   Time
1)    Long Way Down
2)    Drinkin' Alone
3)    Ashes of Yesterday
4)    Day Before Temptation
5)    Here She Goes
6)    California Chainshaw
7)    Hangin' Around
8)    Brother John
9)    Six Feet Away
10)    Too Much
11)    River Runs Red
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Recording information: The Nutthouse.
  • The SteelDrivers are a Nashville-based bluegrass band whose members aren't afraid to highlight the blues and R&B influences in their music, so it makes sense that they'd want to record in Muscle Shoals, Alabama, the city that produced some of the greatest soul music of the '60s and '70s, including major hits by Aretha Franklin, Wilson Pickett, the Staple Singers, and Solomon Burke. Apparently, working under the belief that there is something in the water in Colbert County, the SteelDrivers booked time at NuttHouse Recording Studio in nearby Sheffield, Alabama, and The Muscle Shoals Recordings is the fruit of those sessions. If the title were meant to suggest to fans that this was the SteelDrivers' homage to classic soul music, well, that's not how the finished product plays. Where there's an honestly soulful undertow to songs like "Drinkin' Alone," "Here She Goes," and "Day Before Temptation," The Muscle Shoals Recordings is a straightforward bluegrass set that walks a tightrope between traditional and progressive styles, but doesn't make much effort to break new stylistic ground. Of course, that's criticizing The Muscle Shoals Recordings for what it's not, when what it is happens to be solid and quite satisfying. The five SteelDrivers are outstanding pickers and vocalists who play beautifully, individually and as an ensemble, especially fiddler Tammy Rogers and banjo man Richard Bailey, and they're gifted songwriters who've brought a wealth of fine original material to the table for this album, including "Brother John," "Long Way Down," and "Six Feet Away." They also wisely brought in Jason Isbell to produce and play on a few tracks, and his presence is unobtrusive but a genuine asset. The Muscle Shoals Recordings isn't soul music, but it does happen to be music played with soul, heart, honesty, and skill, which means in its own way it isn't so far from the music that came from 3614 Jackson Highway after all. And if the title suggests a concept that isn't quite there, the music speaks for itself, and what it says is eloquent and deeply pleasing. ~ Mark Deming
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Muscle Shoals Recordings on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top