SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Music for Zen Meditation and Other Joys [Remaster]

Album: Music for Zen Meditation and Other Joys [Remaster]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Is All Not One?
2)    Murmuring Sound of the Mountain Stream, The
3)    Quivering Leaf, Ask the Winds, A
4)    After the Snow, the Fragrance
5)    To Drift Like Clouds
6)    Za-Zen (Meditation)
7)    Prajna-Paramita-Hridaya Sutra (Sutra Chant)
8)    Sanzen (Moment of Truth)
9)    Satori (Enlightenment)
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Tony Scott (clarinet); Shinichi Yuize (koto); Hozan Yamamoto (shakuhachi).
  • Recorded in Japan in February 1964.
  • All tracks have been digitally remastered.
  • This is part of the Verve Master Editions series.
  • Personnel: Tony Scott (clarinet); Shinichi Yuize (koto); Hozan Yamamoto (shakuhachi).
  • Liner Note Authors: Alan Watts; Tony Scott .
  • Recording information: Japan (02/1964); Tokyo, Japan (02/1964).
  • Editor: Peter Pullman.
  • Photographers: Chuck Stewart; John Henry .
  • In the late 1950s, jazz clarinetist Tony Scott traveled through Asia, settling for five years in Japan to play and teach. While his music influenced the Japanese musicians and students he encountered, the music and ambience of Japan made an even deeper impression on him. He began to use his clarinet to imitate the sounds of nature, and started a lifelong investigation into Buddhism and other Eastern philosophies.
  • The first tangible result of this exploration is the 1964 release MUSIC FOR ZEN MEDITATION, arguably the first "new age" recording. This is very simple, uncluttered music; the minimal melodic tension draws the listener into the present moment. Scott's clarinet blends beautifully with bamboo flute and Japanese zither, creating a sound both heady and earthy, the perfect embodiment of the Zen philosophy.
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Jazz » Jazz Vocal
Home » Music » Jazz » Jazz Instrument » Reed
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Music for Zen Meditation and Other Joys [Remaster] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top