Now Australia's Biggest Toy Shop

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Music of Another Present Era

Album: Music of Another Present Era
# Song Title   Time
1)    North Star
2)    Rough Places Plain, The
3)    Sail
4)    At the Hawk's Well
5)    Children of God
6)    Opening
7)    Naiads
8)    Shard/Spring Is Really Coming
9)    Bell Spirit
10)    Baku the Dream Eater
11)    Silence of a Candle, The
12)    Land of Heart's Desire
13)    Swan, The
14)    Touchstone
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Oregon: Paul McCandless (oboe, English horn); Glen Moore (flute, acoustic & electric bass); Collin Walcott (violin, guitar, sitar, tabla, mridangam, esraj, percussion); Ralph Towner (6 & 12-string guitars, mellophone).
  • Recorded at Vanguard's 23rd Street Studios, New York, New York in 1973.
  • Personnel: Ralph Towner (guitar, 12-string guitar, classical guitar, piano); Collin Walcott (sitar, violin, mradangam, tabla, percussion); Glen Moore (flute, piano, electric bass, bass guitar); Paul McCandless (oboe, English horn).
  • Audio Mixer: John Woram.
  • Recording information: Vanguard Street Studios, NY; Vanguard's 23rd Street Studios, NY.
  • MUSIC FROM ANOTHER PRESENT ERA is an important early work by one of the more consistently innovative and groundbreaking jazz fusion ensembles. A quartet comprised of multi-instrumentalists, Oregon fused a chamber-style classical approach with the improvisatory range of jazz and the melodies and rhythms of Indian and African music. As their compositions often tended toward quiet, acoustic, and meditative atmospheres, Oregon seemed to bridge New Age, classical, world music, and jazz all at once, long before the synthesis of such disparate genres was fashionable. This 1972 release remains one of the group's high-water marks.
  • Ralph Towner's guitar skills can be heard to fine effect on "Sail" (in dialogue with Glen Moore's bass and Collin Walcott's propulsive tablas). "Baku the Dream Eater" features an interesting play of brass, and "The Swan" is dreamy and alluring. Though the compositions on MUSIC FROM ANOTHER PRESENT ERA sound studied and precise, they are always marked by the freedom of improvisation (especially on the medley of "Shard/Spring Is Really Coming"), as well as complexity, sensitivity, and an expansive, all-inclusive approach that keeps the album sounding fresh decades later.
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone (8/2/73, p.48) - "...The band is equally at home with baroque counterpoint, Indian raga, harmonically-advanced improvising, rock rhythms and contemporary classicism..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Jazz
Home » Music » Pop
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Music of Another Present Era on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top