Now Australia's Biggest Toy Store

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Album: My Mother's Brisket & Other Love Songs *
# Song Title   Time
1)    I'm Old Enough to Be You Zaide
2)    My Wednesday Balabusta
3)    Live Blogging the Himel Family Bris
4)    My Mother's Brisket
5)    Belated Haftorah
6)    Pu-Pu-Pu
7)    Parve
8)    Wiggle Room
9)    I Can't Help It, I Just Like Christmas
10)    Seven Days of Shiva, The
11)    Kiss My Mezuzah
12)    Asian Confusion
13)    Oy, The Mistakes I Made
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Lyricist: Rick Moranis.
  • Personnel: Thad DeBrock (guitar); Min Xiao-Fen (pipa); Bob Mastro (violin); Jordan Jancz (cello); Gary Schreiner (accordion, piano, organ); Jack Bashkow (clarinet, tenor saxophone); Tim Ouimette (trumpet, flugelhorn); Doug Yowell (drums, percussion); Emily Bindiger (background vocals).
  • Audio Mixer: Chuck Zwicky.
  • Liner Note Author: Rick Moranis.
  • Recording information: Dubway Studios, New York; Rich Man's Den.
  • Arranger: Gary Schreiner.
  • Coming eight years after his country-flavored album The Agoraphobic Cowboy, Rick Moranis' 2013 effort is still based in musical comedy, but it goes in a completely different direction, because there's not much call for songs like "Live Blogging the Himel Family Bris" or "Kiss My Mezuzah" down at the local honky tonk. For all the schlemiels who haven't figured it out, My Mother's Brisket & Other Love Songs is the joyful and loving sound of Moranis returning to his Jewish American roots, with klezmer, jazz, folk, and nostalgic pop music supporting witty songs about food, tradition, family, and food. The title track is a rhumba where he goes on "another chivas bender" over the family dish he's ever so homesick over, while "I'm Old Enough to Be You Zaide" is the passionate Jewish tango version of Lolita or the Police's "Don't Stand So Close to Me" as our hero nervously removes his sweat-stained yarmulke and protests to the young woman "You're digital and I'm still Beta." With wonderfully alive klezmer music behind him plus the opening lines "We ran into the Feldmans, man did they look great/Mindy graduated with a 3.8" the key track "Pu-Pu-Pu" is entirely in the style of the album's main influence, '60s great novelty song artist Allan Sherman, whose style is reflected in Moranis' heavily-accented delivery, lyrics that mix the modern and the traditional, and even the album's nostalgia-filled artwork. Moranis retired from making movies in 1997, and while many would like to see him bust ghosts and shrink kids again, smart, strange projects like these are as rich and rewarding as his work for SCTV. My Mother's Brisket is delicious, delightful, and quite a tribute. Mazel tov! ~ David Jeffries
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Comedy » General
Home » Music » Comedy » Music Comedy
This title is unavailable for purchase as none of our regular suppliers have stock available. If you are the publisher, author or distributor for this item, please visit this link.
Back to top