Now Australia's Biggest Toy Shop

Turn your Clutter Into Cash with SmartSell.TM Book a Courier Pickup Today!

Naked Songs: Live and Acoustic

New or Used: $14.99
Album: Naked Songs: Live and Acoustic
# Song Title   Time
1)    Horses, The
2)    Weasel and the White Boys Cool
3)    Altar Boy
4)    It Must Be Love
5)    Young Blood
6)    Last Chance Texaco, The
7)    Skeletons
8)    Magazine
9)    Living It Up
10)    We Belong Together
11)    Coolsville
12)    Flying Cowboys
13)    Stewart's Coat
14)    Chuck E.'s in Love
15)    Autumn Leaves
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Rickie Lee Jones (vocals, guitar, piano); Rob Wasserman (bass).
  • Audio Mixers: John Beverly Jones; Mark Linett; Steve Boyer.
  • Liner Note Author: Rickie Lee Jones.
  • Photographer: Lee Cantelon.
  • An intimate glimpse into an evening with Rickie Lee Jones, NAKED SONGS spotlights her talents as a singer, songwriter and musician, baring her songs in front of an adoring and appreciative audience. The concept is refreshing: just vocals and guitar or piano, with Rob Wasserman on bass for the last two tunes. And it is very revealing. It's not as if Jones' gifts were ever suffocated by fancy arrangements or obscured by production, but hearing these songs undressed of extra accompaniment and frill reaffirms their artistic strength--and her musical beauty.
  • Admittedly, one of the attractions to Rickie Lee Jones has been the charm and economy of her arrangements. She accompanies herself with just the right--yet not the most expected--instrumentation, always appropriate to the essence of song or story. NAKED SONGS emphasizes this gift of excellent taste. Each track reveals her talent as a songstress. Her voice ranges from a high, lilting slur--softly and sweetly imparting poignant lyrics through a memorable melody, with a melancholy smile--to an acerbic force contorting its way around the obstacle of what it has to say. As for the accompaniment, Jones can treat her guitar with subtle tenderness ("Flying Cowboys"), use it to provide a gentle prodding motion ("Young Blood"), keep it rhythmic and busy ("Weasel And The White Boys Cool"), or make it strong and loud (the bridge of "It Must Be Love"). On some songs she plays piano, using it effectively as minimal support on "Coolsville." Whatever the means, the end is always a good song, painted with care, beautiful in its naked simplicity.
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Folk
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
Home » Music » Pop » Folk Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Naked Songs: Live and Acoustic on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top