SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Nat King Cole Sings/George Shearing Plays [Remaster]

Album: Nat King Cole Sings/George Shearing Plays [Remaster]
# Song Title   Time
1)    September Song
2)    Pick Yourself Up
3)    I Got It Bad (And That Ain't Good)
4)    Let There Be Love
5)    Azure-Te
6)    Lost April
7)    Beautiful Friendship, A
8)    Fly Me to the Moon
9)    Serenata
10)    I'm Lost
11)    There's a Lull in My Life
12)    Don't Go
13)    Everything Happens to Me - (previously unreleased)
14)    Game of Love, The - (previously unreleased)
15)    Guess I'll Go Back Home (This Summer) - (previously unreleased)
Product Details


1. September Song

2. Pick Yourself Up

3. I Got It Bad (And That Ain't Good)

4. Let There Be Love

5. Azure-Te

6. Lost April

7. A Beautiful Friendship

8. Fly Me To The Moon

9. Serenata

10. I'm Lost

11. There's A Lull In My Life

12. Don't Go

13. Everything Happens To Me

14. The Game Of Love

15. Guess I'll Go Back Home

Performer Notes
  • Full performer name: Nat "King" Cole/George Shearing.
  • This edition of NAT "KING" COLE SINGS/GEORGE SHEARING PLAYS contains three bonus tracks from the same recording sessions which did not appear on the original album.
  • Personnel: Nat Cole (vocals); Ralph Carmichael (conductor); Al Hendrickson (guitar); Paul Horn, Wilbur Schwartz, Justin Gordon (flute, piccolo); Lloyd Ulyate (trombone); George Shearing (piano); Emil Richards (vibraphone); Al McKibbon (bass); Shelly Manne (drums); Carlos Vidal (congas); Nick Martinez, Luis Miranda (percussion).
  • Producer: Lee Gillette, Tom Morgan.
  • Reissue producer: Michael Cuscuna.
  • Recorded at Capitol Studios, Los Angeles, California from December 19-22, 1961. Includes liner notes by Pete Welding.
  • Digitally remastered by Ron McMaster.
  • Personnel: George Shearing (piano); Nat King Cole (vocals, piano); Al Hendrickson (guitar); Paul Horn, Justin Gordon, Wilbur Schwartz (flute, piccolo); Lloyd Ulyate (trombone); Emil Richards (vibraphone); Shelly Manne (drums); Carlos Vidal (congas).
  • Audio Remasterers: Larry Walsh; Ron McMaster.
  • Audio Remixer: Ron McMaster.
  • Liner Note Authors: George Shearing; Pete Welding; Will Friedwald.
  • Recording information: Capitol Studios, Los Angeles, CA, Unites States (12/1961).
  • Photographer: Ken Veeder.
  • Arrangers: George Shearing; Ralph Carmichael.
  • This 1961 recording is a wonderful collaboration between two jazz titans. In fact, it's a shame singer Nat "King" Cole and pianist George Shearing didn't make more albums together. Inviting Shearing to play on this record is an example of Cole's musical selflessness. (A noted pianist himself, Cole might have been insulted by Capitol's suggestion to work with Shearing. Thankfully, history proved otherwise.)
  • Comprised of 12 tracks plus three bonus takes, NAT "KING" COLE SINGS/GEORGE SHEARING PLAYS combines the intimacy of a piano quartet with the immense sound of a string orchestra. A gentle, swaying "September Song" and a surprisingly subdued "I Got It Bad (And That Ain't Good)" are two fine examples of the record's relaxed mood. Cole and Shearing's interpretation of "Fly Me to the Moon" is especially stirring; performed as a slow ballad, Bart Howard's melody is captured in all its natural beauty on this rendition like never before. For fans of Cole and/or Shearing, this is a must-have disc.
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Jazz
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Nat King Cole Sings/George Shearing Plays [Remaster] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top