Now Australia's Biggest Toy Shop

Turn your Clutter Into Cash with SmartSell.TM Book a Courier Pickup Today!

A Night at the Village Vanguard [Complete] [Remaster]


Product Description
Product Details


1. A Night In Tunisia

2. I've Got You Under My Skin

3. A Night In Tunisia

4. Softly As In A Morning Sunrise

5. Four

6. Introduction

7. Woody 'n' You

8. Introduction

9. Old Devil Moon

10. What Is This Thing Called Love

11. Softly As In A Morning Sunrise

12. Sonnymoon For Two

13. I Can't Get Started

14. I'll Remember April

15. Get Happy

16. Striver's Row

17. All The Things You Are

18. Get Happy

Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Sonny Rollins (tenor saxophone); Donald Bailey, Wilbur Ware (acoustic bass); Pete LaRoca, Elvin Jones (drums).
  • Reissue producer: Michael Cuscuna.
  • Recorded live at the Village Vanguard, New York, New York on November 3, 1957. Originally released on Blue Note (81581).
  • The Rudy Van Gelder Edition of A NIGHT AT THE VILLAGE VANGUARD includes an essay by Bob Blumenthal.
  • Personnel: Sonny Rollins (tenor saxophone); Donald Bailey, Wilbur Ware (bass); Pete La Roca, Elvin Jones (drums).
  • Producer: Alfred Lion.
  • Reissue producer: Michael Cuscuna.
  • Recorded live at the Village Vanguard, New York, New York on November 3, 1957. Includes liner notes by Leonard Feather and Bob Blumenthal.
  • Digitally remastered by Rudy Van Gelder.
  • This is part of the Blue Note Rudy Van Gelder Editions series.
  • Personnel: Sonny Rollins (tenor saxophone); Elvin Jones, Pete Roca, Pete La Roca (drums).
  • Audio Remasterer: Rudy Van Gelder.
  • Liner Note Author: Bob Blumenthal.
  • Recording information: Village Vanguard, New York, NY (11/03/1957).
  • Photographer: Francis Wolff.
  • It's possible to argue that, whereas his contemporaries Miles Davis and John Coltrane hit peaks of creative invention in the 1960s, Sonny Rollins was at his best in the late '50s. A NIGHT AT THE VILLAGE VANGUARD, taken from performances recorded in 1957, provides ample evidence for the claim. In fact, these recordings make a case for Rollins as one of the most miraculously inventive and agile soloists in the post-bop tradition.
  • With the exception of a brief appearance by drummer Pete LaRoca and bassist Donald Bailey, the performances feature Rollins flanked by the powerhouse rhythm section of Wilbur Ware (bass) and Elvin Jones (drums). The fluidity and rhythmic communication among the three is at a keen pitch throughout on a mix of standards and originals, with the second version of "A Night in Tunisia" and "What Is This Thing Called Love" standing out on two discs' worth of standouts. Post-bop doesn't get any better than this.
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Jazz » Jazz Instrument » Bebop
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling A Night at the Village Vanguard [Complete] [Remaster] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top