COVID-19 Response at

Read what we're doing...

The Night of the Cookers

Album: The Night of the Cookers: Live at Club La Marchal, Vols. 1-2 [Remaster]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Pensativa
2)    Walkin'
1)    Jodo
2)    Breaking Point

Album: The Night of the Cookers: Live at Club La Marchal, Vols. 1-2 [Remaster]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Pensativa
2)    Walkin'
1)    Jodo
2)    Breaking Point
Product Description
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Freddie Hubbard (trumpet); Freddie Hubbard; Lee Morgan, Lee Morgan Quintet (trumpet); Larry Ridley (bass instrument); Big Black (congas); James Spaulding (flute, alto saxophone); Harold Mabern (piano); Pete La Roca (drums).
  • Audio Remasterer: Rudy Van Gelder.
  • Liner Note Authors: Alfred Davis; Bob Blumenthal.
  • Recording information: Club La Marchal, Brooklyn, NY (04/09/1965/04/10/1965).
  • Photographer: Francis Wolff.
  • Originally released as two separate LPs (and reissued in 2004 as a double CD package) THE NIGHT OF THE COOKERS, VOLUMES 1 & 2 puts trumpeters Freddie Hubbard and Lee Morgan, two of the biggest guns of the hard-bop era, head to head throughout an extended live set. James Spaulding plays alto sax and flute, balancing out the brighter, brassier timbres of Hubbard and Morgan, and a crack rhythm section of pianist Harold Mabern, bassist Larry Ridley, drummer Pete La Roca, and conga player Big Black keeps things simmering.
  • Each disc contains only two compositions, Clare Fischer's "Pensativa" and Richard Carpenter's "Walkin'" make up Disc One, and two Hubbard compositions, "Jodo" and "Breaking Point" occupy the second. Since each cut clocks in at approximately 20 minutes, there is ample solo time for each musician; the approach here is all about stretching out over solid grooves. Spaulding and Mabern turn in agile improvisations, but the spotlight is on the two trumpeters. Morgan's playing pales a bit besides Hubbard's on this date--understandably, as Hubbard is tirelessly playful and acrobatic. There are chops galore on this classic hard-bop document, and fans of the era (and of these musicians in particular) will find much to admire.
Professional Reviews
Jazziz (1/95, p.89) - "...Hubbard and Morgan prove they are at the height of their collective blowing strengths by playing off each other. Nothing brings the best out of a musician more than another's relentlessness.... both trumpeters wail to their heart's content..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Jazz
Home » Music » Jazz » Jazz Instrument » Trumpet
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 8% commission by selling The Night of the Cookers: Live at Club La Marchal, Vols. 1-2 [Remaster] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Back to top