Absolutely Australia's Lowest Prices

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Nine [Germany Bonus Tracks]

Album: Nine [Germany Bonus Tracks]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Hexhamshire Lass, The
2)    Polly on the Shore
3)    Brilliancy Medley & Cherokee Shuffle, The
4)    To Althea from Prison
5)    Tokyo
6)    Bring 'Em Down
7)    Big William
8)    Pleasure & Pain
9)    Possibly Parsons Green
10)    Devil in the Kitchen, The (Fiddlestix)
11)    George Jackson
12)    Pleasure & Pain
13)    Six Days on the Road
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Trevor Lucas (vocals, acoustic guitar); Dave Swarbrick (vocals, mandolin, violin, viola); Dave Pegg (vocals, mandolin, bass guitar); Jerry Donahue (acoustic guitar, electric guitar); Dave Mattacks (keyboards, bass guitar, drums, percussion).
  • Audio Mixers: Paschal Byrne; Jerry Donahue.
  • Audio Remasterer: Paschal Byrne.
  • Liner Note Author: Jerry Donahue.
  • Recording information: Sound techniques, London, England (04/23/1973); The Howff, London, England (04/23/1973).
  • Photographer: Brian Cooke.
  • Arrangers: Dave Swarbrick; Fairport Convention; Harry Robinson; Trevor Lucas.
  • Fairport Convention's ninth album is their most uneven. The group shows extraordinary virtuosity and musical instincts on folk-based tracks such as "The Hexamshire Lass" and "The Brilliancy Medley & Cherokee Shuffle" (which features some of the best mandolin playing you're ever likely to hear from an English band), but on numbers like "Polly on the Shore" and "To Althea From Prison," where the band supplies the music to traditional lyrics...the numbers are uniformly lugubrious in the way they're treated, even though the playing isn't bad...Where Richard Thompson always came up with something surprising, unexpected on Fairport's songs, Lucas and Donahue stick with fairly routine pop music sounds, more in keeping with the Eagles than the group that recorded Liege and Lief, Full House and House Full. Lucas's "Bring 'Em Down" is a decent song, with some strong singing and playing by the composer and a lovely and powerful fiddle solo by Swarbrick...as well as the upbeat, riff-heavy "Possibly Parsons Green"... ~ Bruce Eder
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Folk » General
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Nine [Germany Bonus Tracks] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top