SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Nine Lives

Album: Nine Lives
# Song Title   Time
1)    I'm Not Drowning
2)    Fly
3)    Raging Sea
4)    Dirty City - (featuring Eric Clapton)
5)    We're All Looking
6)    Hungry Man
7)    Secrets
8)    At Times We Do Forget
9)    Other Shore
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Steve Winwood (vocals, guitar, organ); Paul Booth (whistling, flute, saxophone); Eric Clapton, Jose Pires de Almeida Neto, Tim Cansfield (guitar); Richard Bailey (drums); Karl Van Den Bossche (percussion).
  • Audio Mixer: James Towler.
  • Recording information: Wincraft Studios, England.
  • Photographers: Sam Erickson; Juan Pont Lezica.
  • After more than 40 years of making music, and over 30 as a solo artist, former Spencer Davis Group/Traffic singer Steve Winwood truly seems to have 9 LIVES, sounding as vital as ever on his ninth solo outing. Picking up on the Latin inflections of the preceding ABOUT TIME, percolating congas weave their way through most of the album, adding an insistent pulse. Unsurprisingly, the atmospheric blues-rocker "Dirty City," featuring an Eric Clapton guest appearance, garnered the most attention, but there are plenty of other pleasures here.
  • The jazzy soprano sax that floats over the congas and acoustic guitar on "Fly," and the floating textures of "Raging Sea," are evocative of Winwood's days in Traffic, while the invigorating organ tabs of "We're All Looking" bear a link to his Spencer Davis Group work. Throughout the album, churning, tension-filled riffs and syncopated Afro-Cuban rhythms provide an urgent undercurrent, proving that this elder statesman is no mere bloated classic-rocker.
Professional Reviews
Uncut (p.90) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "NINE LIVES revisits the jam-based work of Traffic...and that's good news, because Winwood remains at his most compelling in immediate settings."

Q (Magazine) (p.148) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "True to form, his first album in five years is a very musicianly affair..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Nine Lives on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top