COVID-19 Response at

Read what we're doing...

No Room for Squares [Remaster]


Product Description
Product Details


Performer Notes
  • The Rudy Van Gelder Edition of NO ROOM FOR SQUARES contains two tracks, "Up A Step" and "Old World, New Imports" that were recorded at an earlier session but appeared on the original LP. The tracks "Syrup And Biscuits" and "Comin' Back" that appeared on the first CD release of this album are omitted from this edition.
  • Personnel: Hank Mobley (tenor saxophone); Lee Morgan, Donald Byrd (trumpet); Andrew Hill, Herbie Hancock (piano); John Ore, Butch Warren (bass); Philly Joe Jones (drums).
  • Producer: Alfred Lion.
  • Reissue producer: Michael Cuscuna.
  • Recorded at the Van Gelder Studio, Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey on March 7 and October 2, 1963. Originally released on Blue Note (4149). Includes liner notes by Joe Goldberg and Bob Blumenthal.
  • Digitally remastered using 24-bit technology by Rudy Van Gelder (2000, Van Gelder Studio, Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey).
  • This is part of the Blue Note Rudy Van Gelder Editions series.
  • Personnel: Hank Mobley (tenor saxophone); Donald Byrd, Lee Morgan (trumpet); Herbie Hancock, Andrew Hill (piano); Jo Jones , Philly Joe Jones (drums).
  • Audio Remasterer: Rudy Van Gelder.
  • Liner Note Authors: Joe Goldberg; Bob Blumenthal.
  • Recording information: New York, NY (03/07/1963/10/02/1963); Van Gelder Studio, Englewood Cliffs, NJ (03/07/1963/10/02/1963); Van Gelder Studios, Englewood Cliffs, NJ (03/07/1963/10/02/1963).
  • NO ROOM FOR SQUARES is one of the more inventive titles in the Blue Note catalog. This is certainly an apt description for a session that includes the very hip Mobley and accompaniment from the swinging Lee Morgan, creative piano master Andrew Hill, sturdy bassist John Ore, and the powerful Philly Joe Jones on drums. Mobley's confident tenor wail is in full force here, as he and Morgan blow through the all-original program with strong support from the daring rhythm section. SQUARES is among Mobley's most raucous sessions. This is evident on energized tracks like the opening title track and the Latin-tinged "Three Way Split." Also featured is Morgan's lush ballad "Carolyn." In all, this is another stunning hard bop classic.
Professional Reviews
Q (3/01, p.120) - 4 stars out of 5 - "...Crucial listening....combining two 1963 sessions....The paunchy-but-polished Blue Note sound prevails...and Mobley's long, impeccable solo on the opening 'Three Way Split' remains a career highlight."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Blues
Home » Music » Jazz
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling No Room for Squares [Remaster] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top