Now Australia's Biggest Toy Store

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed


Album: Nocturne
# Song Title   Time
1)    En La Orilla Del Mundo Instrumental More Info... 5:14
2)    Noche De Ronda Instrumental More Info... 5:44
3)    Nocturnal Instrumental More Info... 6:56
4)    Moonlight (Claro de Luna) Instrumental More Info... 5:38
5)    Yo Sin Ti (Me Without You) Instrumental More Info... 6:02
6)    No Te Empenes Mas (Don't Try Anymore) Instrumental More Info... 5:31
7)    Transparence Instrumental More Info... 6:12
8)    El Ciego (The Blind) Instrumental More Info... 5:58
9)    Nightfall Instrumental More Info... 6:40
10)    Tres Palabras (Three Words) Instrumental More Info... 6:19
11)    Contigo En La Distancia / En Nosostros Instrumental More Info... 6:34
Product Details


Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Charlie Haden (bass); Joe Lovano, David Sanchez (tenor saxophone); Federico Britos Ruiz (violin); Gonzalo Rubalcaba (piano); Pat Metheny (acoustic guitar); Ignacio Berroa (drums, percussion).
  • Producers: Charlie Haden, Gonzalo Rubalcaba.
  • Recorded at Criteria and The Hit Factory, Miami, Florida from August 27-31, 2000. Includes liner notes by Leonardo Acosta, Charlie Haden & Gonzalo Rubalcaba.
  • NOCTURNE won the 2002 Grammy Award for Best Latin Jazz Album.
  • Personnel: Pat Metheny (acoustic guitar); Federico Ruiz (violin); David Sanchez , Joe Lovano (tenor saxophone); Gonzalo Rubalcaba (piano); Ignacio Berroa (drums, percussion).
  • Audio Mixer: Jay Newland.
  • Recording information: Capitol studios, Los Angeles, CA (08/27/2000-08/31/2000).
  • Photographers: Viollet; Mariella Sosa; Mephisto.
  • Charlie Haden has a longstanding interest in Cuban and Central American music (most notably expressed on his LIBERATION MUSIC ORCHESTRA albums). Here, in the company of Cuban pianist Gonzalo Rubalcaba, he explores the lush, romantic aspects of the Cuban sound. A bracing and delicious sort of melancholy runs through these quiet pieces, calling the listener in ever closer. Half the set features Cuban ballads, the rest being a mix of originals (two by Haden, one by Rubalcaba) and four pieces of Mexican origin.
  • The perfectly matched Haden and Rubalcaba are joined on NOCTURNE by drummer Ignacio Berroa. Guest appearances by tenor saxophonists Joe Lovano and David Sanchez, guitarist Pat Metheny, and violinist Federico Britas Ruiz add additional shadings that underscore the strong melodic sensibilities of this music. NOCTURNE combines the gentle, late-night moods of Haden's Quartet West with the Spanish derivations that have informed the bassist's vision over the course of his exhilarating career.
Professional Reviews
Entertainment Weekly (5/11/01, p.81) - "...A lovely, low-key program of Latin-tinged ballads and mood unexpected charmer..." - Rating: B+

Q (7/01, p.111) - 3 stars out of 5 - "...This kind of sustained subtlety is rare in contemporary rich enough to satisfy without the fiery seasoning."

Uncut (11/01, p.109) - 5 stars out of 5 - "...Few albums emerge as near-perfect as NOCTURNE..."

Down Beat (10/01, pp.70-1) - 3 stars out of 5 - "...Lovingly realized music..."

JazzTimes (9/01, pp.96-7) - "...A great intro to the bolero...and an excellent addition to the library of fans who already love it..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Jazz » Jazz Instrument » Bass
Home » Music » Jazz » Jazz Instrument » Latin
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Nocturne on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top