Australasia's Biggest Online Store

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Nosebleed Weekend [Slipcase] *

Album: Nosebleed Weekend [Slipcase] *
# Song Title   Time
1)    Perfume
2)    Dumb Baby
3)    Squeeki Tiki
4)    Excuse Me?
5)    Make It Right
6)    Nosebleed Weekend
7)    Watch Your Back
8)    Burn Me
9)    I Don't Think So
10)    Down Down
11)    Hiya
12)    Had Enough
13)    Copycat
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Recording information: Valentine Recording Studios, Los Angeles, California.
  • Photographer: Matt Odom.
  • On their fifth album, 2016's Nosebleed Weekend, the Coathangers have shaken off the reckless amateurism that marked their early recordings. If they don't sound "chops intensive," by now, there's no question that these women can play their instruments with agility and enthusiasm. And there's less punky abandon and more solid, straightforward rock & roll on Nosebleed Weekend, though "Squeeki Tiki" and "Watch Your Back" prove they're still in touch with their inner troublemakers. On this album, the Coathangers continue the deliberate move away from their snarky origins that began with 2014's Suck My Shirt. If their rock & roll is still on the minimal side, it's delivered with capable skill and a sense of drama. And "Perfume," "Excuse Me," "Copycat," and "Down Down" all sound moody enough to suggest the band is not afraid to take their music seriously, and maybe not even themselves, either. Drummer Stephanie Luke has added a bit of swing to her rolling and pounding style; Meredith Franco's bass work has developed a strongly melodic throb that's more than welcome, and Julia Kugel's guitar ambles back and forth from crunchy buzz to Morse-code single-note patterns that give the songs a welcome texture. Some fans may bemoan the lack of raucous humor on Nosebleed Weekend, but if this represents a more mature version of the Coathangers, the songs still display flashes of wit and this material rocks. And Nic Jodoin's production is simple but captures the performances with clarity and punch. If calling Nosebleed Weekend the Coathangers' most professional work to date sounds like damning with faint praise, it admirably confirms this band isn't messing around. ~ Mark Deming
Professional Reviews
Spin - "[T]here isn't an exposed wire or uncontrolled dissonance in earshot, and it doesn't need them....Who knew that even in punk, practice could make perfect?"

Paste (magazine) - "NOSEBLEED WEEKEND displays an even greater capacity for churning out maniacally captivating tunes."

Clash (magazine) - "NOSEBLEED WEEKEND is a punk record, and it isn't without the snarl and swagger that brings. 'Make It Right' and 'Had Enough' come across like The Descendants..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Nosebleed Weekend [Slipcase] * on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top