SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Notes of Blue [Slipcase] *

Album: Notes of Blue [Slipcase] *
# Song Title   Time
1)    Promise the World
2)    Back Against the Wall
3)    Static
4)    Cherokee St
5)    Storm, The
6)    Lost Souls
7)    Midnight
8)    Sinking Down
9)    Cairo and Southern
10)    Threads and Steel
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Jay Farrar (vocals, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, organ); Gary Hunt (fiddle, background vocals); Mark Spencer (piano, background vocals); Jacob Edwards (drums, percussion).
  • Audio Mixer: John Agnello.
  • Recording information: Red Pill, St. Louis, MO.
  • Illustrator: Kevin Belford.
  • Photographer: Jay Farrar.
  • In the grand tradition of AC/DC, the Ramones, and Robert Pollard, Jay Farrar is a guy who has essentially been making the same record over and over again throughout his career. That's not a bad thing; all of those artists have made plenty of great, powerful records that reflected a distinctive style that was theirs and theirs alone. Ever since Uncle Tupelo's March 16-20, 1992, where the divide between Farrar and Jeff Tweedy's writing styles became especially clear, Farrar's music has been dominated by his deep, thoughtful vocals, his strong, elemental melodies, and his bursts of Neil Young-style roughhouse guitar. Twenty-five years on, Farrar hasn't abandoned that formula, and while he puts a somewhat different spin on his songwriting on 2017's Notes of Blue, recorded with the latest edition of his band Son Volt, it's entirely obvious that this is Farrar's work less than 30 seconds into the first track, "Promise the World." Son Volt's lineup has been fluid since Farrar resurrected the band in 2005, but with Farrar at the helm their musical personality has remained stable. The title Notes of Blue refers to his recent fascination with vintage rural blues that informed this batch of songs, but the lyrical fragments scavenged from ancient blues numbers and the bursts of slide guitar don't distract much from Son Volt's trademark roots rock attack. Farrar is still a commanding vocalist, his guitar work remains powerful and muscular, and this new edition of Son Volt (Mark Spencer on bass, slide guitar, and piano, Gary Hunt on fiddle, Jason Kardong on pedal steel, and Jacob Edwards on drums) sounds taut and convincing. ~ Mark Deming
Professional Reviews
Uncut (magazine) - "'Promise The World' opens the album in familiar Burritos-styled country-rock territory, all weeping pedal steel as Farrar sings with weather-beaten resignation..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Notes of Blue [Slipcase] * on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top