Now Australia's Biggest Toy Shop

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

O Sister

Album: O Sister: The Women's Bluegrass Collection
# Song Title   Time
1)    If Wishes Were Horses - Claire Lynch
2)    Silver Tongue and Gold Plated Lies - Suzanne Thomas
3)    Sad Situation - Delia Bell
4)    True Life Blues - Hazel Dickens/Alice Gerrard
5)    Lonesome Wind Blues - Rhonda Vincent
6)    Pardon Me - The Cox Family
7)    Old River - Ginny Hawker/Hazel Dickens
8)    You Tried to Ruin My Name - Wilma Lee Cooper
9)    I Can't Find Your Love Any More - Hazel Dickens
10)    Just Like Rain - Kathy Kallick/Laurie Lewis
11)    Mama's Hand - Lynn Morris
12)    Every Time You Say Goodbye - Alison Krauss
13)    Blue - Stevens Sisters
14)    Time Is Winding Up - Carol Elizabeth Jones/Ginny Hawker
15)    Blow, Big Wind - Laurie Lewis
16)    Will There Be Any Stars? - Alison Krauss/The Cox Family
17)    Last Old Shovel, The - Phyllis Boyens
18)    Comin' Down from God - Carol Elizabeth Jones
19)    Eight More Miles - Claire Lynch/Laurie Lewis/Lynn Morris/Rhonda Vincent
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Includes liner notes by Marty Godbey.
  • Personnel: Dudley Connell, Mary Gibbons, Jim Hurst, Kathy Kallick, Lynn Morris, Alice Gerrard, Suzanne Thomas, Wilma Lee Cooper (vocals, guitar); Gene Wooten (vocals, dobro); Beth Stevens (vocals, banjo); Don Rigsby, Rhonda Vincent, Tom Rozum (vocals, mandolin); Laurie Lewis, Alison Krauss (vocals, fiddle); Ronnie Bowman (vocals, electric bass); Claire Lynch, Delia Bell, Douglas Stevens, Ginny Hawker, Hazel Dickens, Evelyn Cox, Sidney Cox, April Stevens, Phyllis Boyens, Suzanne Cox, Terry Smith , Bill Grant, Todd Phillips, Carol Elizabeth Jones, Carolee Cooper (vocals); Ron Block (guitar, banjo); Kenny Smith , Jeff White, Pete Kennedy, Bryan Sutton (guitar); Roger Williams , Rob Ickes (dobro); Richard Underwood, Lamar Grier, Marc Pruett, Sammy Shelor, Stanley Brown, Tom Adams, Tony Furtado, Michael McLain (banjo); Ron Stewart (mandolin, fiddle); Larry Lynch (mandolin, background vocals); David McLaughlin, Adam Steffey, John Reischman, Mike Seeger, Barry Mitterhoff, Wayne Benson (mandolin); Clarence "Tater" Tate, Eddie Stubbs, Mike Hartgrove, Stuart Duncan, Tracy Schwarz (fiddle); Barry Bales, Ronnie Simpkins (acoustic bass).
  • Liner Note Author: Marty Godbey.
  • Photographer: Rick Olivier.
  • The latest in a lengthening string of releases designed to benefit from association with the Coen brothers film O Brother, Where Art Thou? is this all-girl bluegrass compilation, which features on its cover the requisite stubbly cornfield and archaic font style. Opportunistic as the packaging may be, there's no arguing with the quality of the content. Generously packed with outstanding performances by women as stylistically disparate as Hazel Dickens, Claire Lynch, and Kathy Kallick, O Sister is a delightful celebration of several generations of criminally unheralded female bluegrass artists. The highlights are many, but particular standout tracks include Rhonda Vincent's rocking "Lonesome Wind Blues," the hard-edged mountain sound of Phyllis Boyens (backed up by Hazel Dickens and the Johnson Mountain Boys), and the clawhammer banjo-powered "Comin' Down From God" by the relatively unknown Carol Elizabeth Jones. The usual suspects are here too, of course, including Alison Krauss (on the exquisitely gentle and sweet "Every Time You Say Goodbye") and the Cox Family (twice). You might buy this one because you feel guilty about the way women have been neglected in the bluegrass world, but you'll keep coming back to it because the songs are just so dang good. ~ Rick Anderson
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling O Sister: The Women's Bluegrass Collection on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top