Download the Free Fishpond App!
Download on the App Store

Android App on Google play
O Sister: The Women's Bluegrass Collection 2

Already own it?

Sell Yours
Home » Music » Pop » Singer/Songwriter

O Sister

The Women's Bluegrass Collection 2

Artist: Various Artists (Recorded By)

Elsewhere $36.49 $28.47   Save $8.02 (22%)
Free shipping Australia wide
Ships from USA
Order now for Christmas delivery
Register or sign-in to rate and get recommendations.
Label: Rounder Select
Album: O Sister: The Women's Bluegrass Collection 2
# Song Title   Time
1)    Tall Pines - Laurie Lewis
2)    It Rains Everywhere I Go - Lynn Morris
3)    I'll Stay Around - Alecia McRight
4)    I Wonder Where You are Tonight - Jeannie Kendall
5)    Leaving This Land - Suzanne Thomas
6)    Pretending I Don't Care - Rhonda Vincent
7)    Don't Neglect the Rose - Ginny Hawker
8)    Love Me or Leave Me Alone - Hazel Dickens
9)    Hideaway - Kathy Kallick/Laurie Lewis
10)    Who's Crying for You Now - Stevens Sisters
11)    Reason Enough - Tanya Savory
12)    Hey Lonesome - Claire Lynch
13)    Someday - James Leva/Carol Elizabeth Jones
14)    Montana Cowboy - Hazel Dickens/Alice Gerrard/Hazel & Alice
15)    High on a Mountain - Ola Belle Reed
16)    Poor Ellen Smith - Wilma Lee Cooper
17)    Times Are Not What They Used to Be - Ginny Hawker/Hazel Dickens
18)    Dream of a Miner's Child - Hazel Dickens/Phyllis Boyens
19)    Memories of You - Lucy Kaplansky/Wayfaring Strangers
20)    Willow - Marie Burns/The Woodshed All-Stars
21)    Jewels - Alison Krauss/Suzanne Cox

Performer Notes
  • Includes liner notes by Ronni Lundy.
  • Adapters: Ken Irwin; Hazel Dickens; Phyllis Boyens.
  • Personnel: Ginny Hawker, Hazel Dickens (vocals, tenor); Carol Elizabeth Jones (vocals, baritone); Kathy Kallick, Alice Gerrard, Wilma Lee Cooper (vocals, guitar); Beth Stevens, Ola Belle Reed (vocals, banjo); Marie Burns, Rhonda Vincent, Tom Rozum (vocals, mandolin); Alison Krauss (vocals, fiddle, viola); Laurie Lewis, Stoney Cooper (vocals, fiddle); Jeannie Kendall, Lucy Kaplansky, Lynn Morris, Phyllis Boyens, Suzanne Thomas, Tanya Savory (vocals); Darrin Vincent (tenor, baritone); Darrell Scott (tenor, guitar); Ray Deaton (tenor, acoustic bass); Russell Moore (baritone, guitar); Tim O'Brien (baritone, mandolin); Suzanne Cox (baritone); Ron Block (guitar, acoustic guitar); Ron Stewart (guitar, banjo, fiddle); Carl Jackson (guitar, banjo); Jim Hurst (guitar, background vocals); David Reed, Dudley Connell, Bud Reed, John Rossbach, James Leva, Jeff White, John McGann, Pat Enright, Jerry Shook, Bruce Molsky, Bryan Sutton (guitar); Wanda Vick (acoustic guitar, mandolin, fiddle); Dan Tyminski (acoustic guitar); Sally Van Meter (resonator guitar); Jerry Douglas , Randy Kohrs (dobro); Michael McLain (banjo, background vocals); Steve Dilling, Lamar Grier, Craig Robert Smith, Mac Benford, Tom Adams, B?la Fleck, Tony Trischka, Butch Robins (banjo); David McLaughlin, Tom Beneky, Bill Carver, Adam Steffey, Larry Lynch , Mike Seeger, Roland White, Ronnie McCoury, Barry Mitterhoff, Wayne Benson (mandolin); Matt Glaser (violin, viola); John Kirk (fiddle, background vocals); John Miller , Glen Duncan , Mike Hartgrove, Pete Sutherland, Aubrey Haynie, Tracy Schwarz, Blaine Sprouse (fiddle); Andy Statman (clarinet); Barry Bales, Ronnie Simpkins (acoustic bass); Mark Burchfield (upright bass); Glen Lee Alan Davis (drums); Kenny Malone (percussion); Diane Hines, Herman Harper, Carolee Cooper (background vocals).
  • Photographer: Rick Olivier.
  • Arrangers: Ginny Hawker; Hazel Dickens; Stoney Cooper; Wilma Lee Cooper.
  • In the wake of the success of O Sister in 2001, the Rounder label wisely decided to follow it up with another collection of bluegrass songs, old and new, performed by female singers and instrumentalists. Though the sound of hard-edged and high-pitched men's voices has almost defined bluegrass music from the beginning, women have made significant contributions as well, though those contributions have not always gotten the recognition they deserved. O Sister 2: A Woman's Bluegrass Collection continues the project of rectifying that oversight, and does so quite nicely by showcasing performances by relative unknowns like Carol Elizabeth Jones and Alecia McKnight alongside such usual suspects as Rhonda Vincent, Claire Lynch, Lynn Morris, and the inevitable Alison Krauss. Stylistically, this second collection ranges a bit further afield than the first one did; alongside strictly traditional material like "Poor Ellen Smith" (sung with reedy power by the gracefully aging Ola Belle Reed) and the Jimmy Martin classic "Pretending I Don't Care" (performed here by Rhonda Vincent), there are more pop-flavored delights, such as Carol Elizabeth Jones' sweetly tuneful original song "Someday" and even a downright avant-garde contribution from the Wayfaring Strangers, whose "Memories of You" features a klezmer clarinet. Everything here is worth hearing, though overall this collection doesn't pack quite as much punch as the first one did. ~ Rick Anderson

Producer:Ken Irwin (Compilation)
Format:CD (0 Disc); Stereo
Studio/Live: Studio
Release Date:1 September, 2002
Tell a friend

Their Email:

Sell Yours

Already own this item?
Sell Yours and earn some cash. It's fast and free to list! (Learn More.)

Review this Product


Related Searches


Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners

You can earn a 5% commission by selling O Sister: The Women's Bluegrass Collection 2 on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep!



Are you the Author/Publisher? Improve sales by submitting additional information on this title.


This item ships from and is sold by, Inc.