SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

The OF Tape, Vol. 2 [Digipak] [Parental Advisory]

New or Used: $9.99
Album: The OF Tape, Vol. 2 [Digipak]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Hi.
2)    Bitches - (featuring Domo Genesis/Hodgy Beats)
3)    NY (Ned Flander) - (featuring Tyler, The Creator/Hodgy Beats)
4)    Ya Know - (featuring The Internet)
5)    Forest Green - (featuring Mike G)
6)    Lean - (featuring Domo Genesis/Hodgy Beats)
7)    Analog 2 - (featuring Tyler, The Creator/Frank Ocean/Syd Bennett)
8)    50 - (featuring MellowHype)
9)    Snow White - (featuring Hodgy Beats/Frank Ocean)
10)    Rella - (featuring Domo Genesis/Tyler, The Creator/Hodgy Beats)
11)    Real Bitch - (featuring MellowHype)
12)    P - (featuring Tyler, The Creator/Hodgy Beats)
13)    White
14)    Hcapd - (featuring Domo Genesis/Tyler, The Creator/Hodgy Beats)
15)    Sam (Is Dead) - (featuring Domo Genesis/Tyler, The Creator)
16)    Doms - (featuring Domo Genesis)
17)    We Got Bitches - (featuring Tyler, The Creator/Jasper Dolphin)
18)    Oldie
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Recording information: Flagstaff, Marina Del Rey, CA; Frank's house, Beverly Hills, CA; Paramount Recording Studios, Hollywood, CA; Studio For the Talented and Gifted, Los Angeles, CA; The Trap, Los Angeles, CA.
  • Photographers: MellowHype; Tyler, The Creator; Matt Martians; Julian Berman; Brick Stowell.
  • As of early 2012, while The OF Tape, Vol. 2 was seeing release, the wild hip-hop collective called Odd Future had significantly "got real" twice in their career, once with Frank Ocean's rather traditional mixtape Nostalgia and once with the Internet's debut album Purple Naked Ladies. The first one was a home run by mixtape standards, although Ocean's compelling voice was "in demand" and an "easy sell", while the more subtle Internet album stiffed like Tyler, the Creator watching a porno. For a minute, the eccentric-as-they-wanna-be OF didn't seem an omnipresent force, so please forgive that this, their official debut album is also a mixtape, and a Vol. 2 mixtape at that. That allows head Wolf Tyler the freedom to executive produce in a way in which he's comfortable, with that thrill-filled, "don't give an F-bomb" attitude that loads a truly exquisite Ocean miniature called "White" into the cannon. This delicate creature is fired-off between a hectic, Wu-Tang styled number where the core crew spits naughty Shaolin ("P") and a Left Brain track that's the kind of horror show you hold up when you want to peg the group as akin to ICP ("Hcapd"). That's scattershot, which is where Odd Future still thrive, and as highlights like the minimal "Bitches," the Goblin-spawn "NY(Ned Flander)," and the hyno-riffic creeper "Forest Green" tick off, the complaints that some tracks are old and the whole thing seems thrown together lose weight. What they're juggling here is the impossible combination of the R&B Ocean, the Portishead-ish Internet, and the mutant-like everyone else, including the goopy and gruff Domo Genesis, who comes off as the MVP of Vol. 2, and also the evil spawn of a Garbage Pail Kids' skateboard and Bizarre from D12. The evidence that Odd Future are headed toward a more sensible, proper statement comes at the end of the chaos, as the punk-rock-hop "We Got Bitches" captures the bird-flipping allure of OF in a solid 3:19, right before the epic closer "Oldie" reunites them with their mighty, long-lost member Earl Sweatshirt. Hype warranted, the mystery continues, and while no kid should write "666" on their forehead before getting their driver's license, Odd Future remain a vital force in the hip-hop underground. ~ David Jeffries
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone (p.66) - 3.5 stars out of 5 -- "THE O.F. TAPE VOLUME 2 has a fizzy energy that elevates it....Leader Tyler, the Creator is an imaginative soundscaper whose beats take in everything from crunk to Nineties indie rap."

Entertainment Weekly (p.72) - "[T]he boys swap horror for hormones, giddily trading tall tales and witty obscenities."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » R&B » General
Home » Music » R&B » Acid Jazz
People also searched for
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The OF Tape, Vol. 2 [Digipak] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top