Australasia's Biggest Online Store

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

The OMD Singles

Album: The OMD Singles
# Song Title   Time
1)    Electricity
2)    Messages
3)    Enola Gay
4)    Souvenir
5)    Joan of Arc
6)    Maid of Orleans
7)    Tesla Girls
8)    Locomotion
9)    Talking Loud and Clear
10)    So in Love
11)    If You Leave
12)    (Forever) Live and Die
13)    Dreaming
14)    Sailing on the Seven Seas
15)    Pandora's Box
16)    Call My Name
17)    Dream of Me
18)    Walking on the Milky Way
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Full performer name: Orchestral Manoeuvres In The Dark.
  • Producers include: OMD, Mike Howlett, Richard Manwaring, Brian Tench, Stephen Hague.
  • Audio Mixers: Steve Anderson; Peter Coleman; Tom Lord-Alge.
  • Audio Remixers: Gregg Jackmann; Andy McGuire; Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark .
  • Photographers: Robin Broadbent; Richard Haughton; Joseph Hunwick; David Sheinman.
  • Though their albums were fully absorbing pieces of work that contained concise songs and atmospheric textures in equal measure, O.M.D. were regarded by many as being primarily a singles group. In the early 1980s, the groundbreaking British synth-pop duo churned out a bucketload of UK hits, each more accessible and unforgettable than the last. The low-budget electric piano that carries the main riff of "Electricity" hints at the band's lo-fi beginnings, and some of the early songs ("Enola Gay," "Messages"), while attractively melodic, still bear a trace of post-punk urgency. As they moved along, however, Andy McCluskey and Roger Humphreys became (momentarily) more experimental (the unconventional, ethereal pop of "Souvenir") and progressively more lush and stylized. Such later singles as "If You Leave" and "(Forever) Live and Die" suggest a summit meeting of Phil Spector, Depeche Mode, and AVALON-era Roxy Music. Decades down the line, the tunes collected on THE OMD SINGLES make it clear why these two lads from Liverpool were among the most memorable, substantive acts of the synth-pop era.
Professional Reviews
Spin (1/99, pp.116-118) - 9 (out of 10) - "...[OMD's] pitiless singles compilation is kind of inspiring. It suggests that fabulous constructions never die--they just end up occupying space in our pop landscape like great buildings..."

Entertainment Weekly (12/11/98, pp.80-81) - "Not as witty as the Pet Shop Boys, as kinetic as Yazoo, or as melodramatic as Soft Cell, OMD did help birth the concept of the synth-pop duo, and at their best...sounded like a cross between Bobby Vinton and Kraftwerk..." - Rating: B
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » New Romantic
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The OMD Singles on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top