Now Australia's Biggest Toy Store

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Ocean Avenue

New or Used: $9.61
Album: Ocean Avenue
# Song Title   Time
1)    Way Away
2)    Breathing
3)    Ocean Avenue
4)    Empty Apartment
5)    Life of a Salesman
6)    Only One
7)    Miles Apart
8)    Twentythree
9)    View from Heaven
10)    Inside Out
11)    Believe
12)    One Year, Six Months
13)    Back Home
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • This is an Enhanced CD, which contains both regular audio tracks and multimedia computer files.
  • Yellowcard: Ryan Key (vocals, guitar, bass); Sean Mackin (vocals, violin); Benjamin Harper (guitar); Longineu Parsons (drums).
  • Additional personnel: Alieka Wijnvelat (vocals); Rodney Wirtz (viola); Christine Choi (cello); Peter Mosely (piano, bass).
  • Recorded at Sunset Sound, Hollywood, California between February & March 2003.
  • Personnel: Ryan Key (vocals, guitar); Sean Mackin (vocals, violin); Aliska Wijnvelot (vocals); Ben Harper (guitar); Peter Mosely (piano); Longineu Parsons III (drums).
  • Audio Mixer: Tom Lord-Alge.
  • Recording information: 02/2003-03/2003.
  • Yellowcard's major-label debut is that rarity in latter-day punk-rock--a nuanced, almost subtle collection of distinctive songs with lyrics sensitive enough to reference moonlight, the ocean, and DEATH OF A SALESMAN, amongst its more usual expressions of post-teen angst. (And, by the way, they also have a violinist.) But, far from consigning them to the ranks of the irredeemably nerdy, OCEAN AVENUE is the sound of a young band flexing its imaginative muscle and emerging from behind the one-sound-fits-all sonic shadow of Green Day to produce a singularly distinctive collection of songs.
  • Sure, the album's opening salvo "Way Away" is straight out of the SoCal punk rock playbook, but by the shimmering intro to "Only One" it's increasingly obvious that there's more on offer here than one-dimensional posturing. It's not that Yellowcard are any slouches in the sonic thrash department, as evidenced by the breathless rush of "Twentythree"--it's just that they're not afraid to let their strong lyrics and musical smarts speak for them as much as their twentysomething stamina.
Professional Reviews
CMJ (7/21/03, p.6) - "...By simply adding a classically trained violinist into its mix, Yellowcard has already masterfully set itself apart....giant hooks and undeniably catchy choruses...are propelled to monstrous levels by Sean Mackin's violin..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Ocean Avenue on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top