Now Australia's Biggest Toy Store

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Odyssey Number Five

New or Used: 6 copies from $5.01
Hurry - Only 3 left in stock!
1. Waiting for the Sun
2. My Happiness
3. The Metre
4. Like a Dog
5. Odyssey #5
6. Up and Down and Back Again
7. My Kind of Scene
8. These Days
9. We Should Be Together Now
10. Thrilloilogy
11. Whatever Makes You Happy
Album: Odyssey Number Five
# Song Title   Time
1)    Waiting For The Sun More Info... 3:52
2)    My Happiness More Info... 4:37
3)    The Metre More Info... 4:33
4)    Like A Dog More Info... 4:21
5)    Odyssey # 5 More Info... 1:45
6)    Up & Down & Back Again More Info... 4:25
7)    My Kind Of Scene More Info... 4:37
8)    These Days More Info... 4:59
9)    We Should Be Together Now More Info... 3:42
10)    Thrillology More Info... 6:10
11)    Whatever Makes You Happy More Info... 2:28
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Powderfinger: Bernard Fanning (vocals, guitar, keyboards); Darren Middleton (guitar, background vocals); Ian Haug (guitar); John Collins (bass); Jon Coghill (drums, percussion).
  • Additional personnel: Elizabeth Jones, Jacob Plooji, Yun Mi Ma, Fiona Ziegler, Naomi Redom (violin); Felicity Wyithe, Mandy Murphy (viola); Canmeron Retchford, Peter Morrison (cello); Matt Murphy (Wurlitzer piano, Hammond B-3 organ, synthesizer); Kim Moyes (marimba); Maxime Bibeau (contrabass); Nique DiDia, Alex Pertout (percussion); DJ Silence (programming); Lou Bennett, Sally Dastey (background vocals).
  • Recorded at Sing Sing Studios, Melbourne, Australia.
  • Personnel: Bernard Fanning (vocals, guitar, background vocals); Darren Middleton (guitar, background vocals); Ian Haug (guitar); Maxime Bibeau (contra guitar); Jun Yi Ma, Jacob Plooij, Naomi Radom, Fiona Ziegler (violin); Felicity Wyithe, Mandy Murphy (viola); Peter Morrison (cello); Matt Murphy (Wurlitzer organ); Jon Coghill (drums, percussion); Alex Pertout, Nick DiDia (percussion); Damien, Sally Dastey, PF, Amy Saunders, Lou Bennett (background vocals).
  • Audio Mixer: Nick DiDia.
  • Recording information: Sing Sing Studio, Melbourne, Australia.
  • Photographers: Kevin Wilkins; Darren Middleton.
  • Powderfinger's Odyssey Number Five is a slightly off-base perspective into the world of mid-'90s American grunge and its conspicuous debt to Neil Young. The title track takes Placebo -- sneers and all -- and places them in a pair of stadium trousers; single "My Happiness" drowns a hip-hop-inspired guitar riff better than most bands of their stature. ~ Dean Carlson
Professional Reviews
Entertainment Weekly (3/30/01, p.69) - "...Proves that there's still guitar rock terrain left to explore....[They] can be as prim as Travis or as mock-grandiose as Oasis." - Rating: B+

Q (6/01, p.113) - 3 stars out of 5 - "...[They] bring a rare craft to their rock classicism....adding Crowded House's breezy pop suss and Radiohead's moody atmospherics to the familiar epic's a mesmerizing sound..."

CMJ (3/26/01, p.12) - "...Recalls the days when a balance of dewy, feminine vocals and manly, echo-riffic guitars were the stuff of AM radio hits..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Odyssey Number Five on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top