Australasia's Biggest Online Store

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

On the Level [Bonus Tracks]

Album: On the Level [Bonus Tracks]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Little Lady More Info... 3:03
2)    Most Of The Time More Info... 3:22
3)    I Saw The Light More Info... 3:40
4)    Over And Done More Info... 3:55
5)    Nightride More Info... 3:54
6)    Down Down More Info... 5:25
7)    Broken Man More Info... 4:14
8)    What To Do More Info... 3:07
9)    Where I Am More Info... 2:45
10)    Bye Bye Johnny More Info... 5:21
11)    Down Down More Info... 3:50
12)    Roll Over Lay Down Live At The N.E.C. More Info... 5:41
13)    Gerdundula Live At Shepherds Bush Empire More Info... 2:35
14)    Junior's Wailing Live At Glasgow Apollo, Glasgow / 1976 More Info... 3:57
15)    Roadhouse Blues Live At Glasgow Apollo, Glasgow / 1976 More Info... 12:24
Product Details


Performer Notes
  • Liner Note Author: Gary Fielding.
  • If any single song sums up Status Quo in the hearts and the minds of the millions, it's "Down Down." Other songs may have been bigger, others may have more resonance, and some ("Rocking All Over the World " comes to mind) may be so permanently ingrained that it's hard to remember that Status Quo cut anything else. But, if you want to nail the very essence of Status Quo, only "Down Down" will do. It was their first British number one and their first all-time classic. And it was also their first grinning, winking acknowledgement that not only was there a formula to the records they made, but they were not afraid to list its ingredients. "Down Down" is the perfect Status Quo record, and the fact that it doesn't arrive until six songs into the band's eighth album just proves how much fun it had coming up with it. On the Level is Quo at its single-minded best. It doesn't matter whether its driving the boogie through your skull with the relentless precision of "Little Lady" and "Over and Done," lurching loosely around the ghosts of blues and ballads ("Most of the Time" and a positively maniacal finale of "Bye Bye Johnny"), or even glancing back to their days as one of British psych's finest pop bands ("What to Do"). Still, all roads lead back to "Down Down," a dynamic riff, a perplexing lyric, and a mood that's so compulsive that you'll still be shaking your head in time long after all your hair's fallen out. And, just to make it even better, the album version's almost two minutes longer than the familiar hit, littered with false starts, fake endings, and one of the cruelest fade-outs in recorded history. It comes just as you're really getting into the groove. ~ Dave Thompson
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Hard Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling On the Level [Bonus Tracks] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top