Now Australia's Biggest Toy Store

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

One Breath *

Album: One Breath *
# Song Title   Time
1)    Suddenly
2)    Eliza
3)    Piece by Piece
4)    Cry
5)    Sing to Me
6)    Tristan
7)    One Breath
8)    Love of My Life
9)    Carry Me Over
10)    Bleed into Me
11)    Bridge, The
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Anna Calvi (vocals, guitar, vibraphone); Daniel Maieleu Wood (guitar, marimba, drums, percussion, background vocals); Mally Hargaz (dulcimer, harmonium, vibraphone, marimba); Arthur Busby, Hayden Oliver, Jennifer Sweetmen (violin); Kristi Swanson, Lisamarie Vana, Dimitry Kustanovich (viola); Buffi Jacobs, Valerie Tatge (cello); John Baggot (piano, prepared piano, organ, synthesizer); Chad Stockslager (background vocals).
  • Audio Mixer: John Congleton.
  • Recording information: Black Box Recording Studio.
  • Photographer: Roger Deckker.
  • On her 2011 Mercury-nominated debut, bewitching, guitar-slinging Brit Anna Calvi delivered enough atmosphere to terraform her own planet. Elegant and poised, yet undeniably coiled and ready to strike at the first sign of a threat, songs like "Desire," "Suzanne & I," and "Blackout" sounded like a radio caught between Roy Orbison's "Crying" and PJ Harvey's "Man-Sized." One Breath, her intoxicating sophomore outing, picks right up where her eponymous first impression left off, offering up a pair of fevered, reverb-drenched, bordello-rock gems in "Suddenly" and "Eliza," before shifting gears with the icy and elliptical "Piece by Piece," one of several tracks that owe more than a cursory nod to the punchy, overcast minimalism of late-period Scott Walker. Calvi's more comfortable with pushing the envelope this time around, and One Breath feels like the work of an artist who has been given (or has at least given herself) carte blanche. Songs like "Cry," with its explosive blasts of Carlos Alomar-borne feedback, the hypnotic "Bleed into Me," which sounds like Jeff Buckley taking on King Crimson's "Matte Kudasai," and the nervy, incredibly intimate title track, may mine different areas of the sonic map, but they remain firmly entrenched in the ever-expanding Anna Calvi universe. Having eschewed much of the cavernous chamber pop of her debut for more challenging yet no less rewarding fare, Calvi's less adventurous fans may find themselves at a loss as to how to process it all, but there's something both immaculate and broken about One Breath that ultimately transcends its more difficult moments. ~ James Christopher Monger
Professional Reviews
Q (Magazine) (p.106) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "Adding depth and shade to her on-record persona, Calvi lays her vulnerabilities bravely on the line....Captivating..."

Mojo (Publisher) (p.87) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "ONE BREATH is, indeed, breathtaking, and an undeniable upgrade on its much-vaunted predecessor."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling One Breath * on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top