Absolutely Australia's Lowest Prices

Turn your Clutter Into Cash with SmartSell.TM Book a Courier Pickup Today!

One Second

Album: One Second
# Song Title   Time
1)    One Second
2)    Say Just Words
3)    Lydia
4)    Mercy
5)    Soul Courageous
6)    Another Day
7)    Sufferer, The
8)    This Cold Life
9)    Blood of Another
10)    Disappear
11)    Sane
12)    Take Me Down
13)    How Soon is Now?
14)    Albino Flogged In Black
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Paradise Lost: Nick Holmes (vocals); Greg Mackintosh (guitar, keyboards, sampling, programming, background vocals); Aaron Aedy (guitar); Stephen Edmondson (bass); Lee Morris (drums, background vocals).
  • Additional personnel: Stephan Brisland-Ferner (violin, strings); Sank (keyboards, sampling, programming, background vocals).
  • Recorded at Battery Studios, London, England and Rockfield Studios, Monmouth, Wales.
  • Lyricist: Nick Holmes.
  • Personnel: Nick Holmes (vocals); Greg Mackintosh (guitar, keyboards, programming, sampler, background vocals); Aaron Aedy (guitar); Stefan Brisland-Ferner (violin, strings); Lee Morris (drums, background vocals).
  • Audio Mixer: Stefan Glaumann.
  • Recording information: Battery Studios, London; MVG Studios; Rockfield Studios, Monmouth, Wales; Toytown Productions.
  • Photographer: Susan Andrews.
  • Arrangers: Greg Mackintosh; Stefan Glaumann.
  • Anyone listening to this album for the first time would be forgiven for doing a double-take and checking the cover art to make sure they had indeed purchased Paradise Lost's One Second instead of a Depeche Mode record. This 1997 release displays an astounding sonic evolution when compared to the group's previous release, 1995's Draconian Times, and nothing remains of their early death/doom metal origins. Singer Nick Holmes has permanently retired his once-trademark growl, and the guitars, though still dominant, make room for ambient keyboard melodies as well as the occasional drum machine. "Say Just Words" alternates hypnotic guitar-chugging with a memorable chorus, while "Soul Courageous" would fit in perfectly on any Sisters of Mercy record. "Blood of Another" and "Mercy" are other bright spots, and though fans of early Paradise Lost should approach with caution, there's no denying the quality of this radical but impressive departure. ~ Eduardo Rivadavia
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling One Second on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top