Australasia's Biggest Online Store

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

The One Thing

New or Used: 3 copies from $6.00
Album: The One Thing
# Song Title   Time
1)    Said I Loved You...But I Lied
2)    I'm Not Made of Steel
3)    One Thing, The
4)    Soul of My Soul
5)    Completely
6)    Lean on Me
7)    Ain't Got Nothing If You Ain't Got Love
8)    Time For Letting Go, A
9)    Never Get Enough of Your Love
10)    In the Arms of Love
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel includes: Michael Bolton (vocals); Mutt Lange (guitar, background vocals); Dann Huff, Michael Landau, Michael Thompson (guitar); Philip Nicholas (keyboards, programming); David Foster (keyboards); Walter Afanasieff (Hammond B-3 organ, keyboards, synthesizer, programming); John Robinson (drums); Gary Cirimelli (programming, background vocals); Claude Gaudette (programming); Ren Klyce (programming).
  • Tower Of Power Horns: Emilio Castillo, David Mann (tenor saxophone); Stephen "Doc" Kupka (baritone saxophone); Lee Thornburg (trumpet, trombone); Greg Adams (trumpet).
  • Producers: Robert John "Mutt" Lange, Walter Afanasieff, David Foster, Michael Bolton.
  • Engineers include: Dana Jon Chappelle, Humberto Gatica, Al Schmitt.
  • Recorded at Out Of Pocket Productions Ltd. Studios, Surrey, England; Passion Studios, Connecticut; The Record Plant and Oceanway Studios, Los Angeles, California.
  • "Said I Loved You...But I Lied" was nominated for Best Pop Vocal Performance, Male in the 37th Annual Grammy Awards.
  • The one thing Michael Bolton can use is getting critics off his back. If you want to be "in" in some circles, you must rip into Michael Bolton. Critics like to make stars and then knock 'em down. However, Michael Bolton has two powerful weapons on his side: talent and millions of fans. And it is his fans who truly matter in the long run.
  • On THE ONE THING, Michael showcases his powerful voice and songwriting expertise to full effect. "I Said I Loved You...But I Lied" is one of the best songs of his career. Understated and emotional, his poignant vocal expresses the one thing that the word "love" isn't strong enough to state: his feelings. Fortunately Bolton has that compelling voice of his, and when he cracks to a slight falsetto, you can hear hearts melting across the planet.
  • A powerhouse of a vocalist, the lion-maned superstar scorches through power ballads ("Completely"), Police-style rockers ("I'm Not Made Of Steel"), and soul-stirrers ("Ain't Got Nothing If You Ain't Got Love"). And since every Michael Bolton album has a remake of a popular oldie, THE ONE THING also includes an impassioned reading of Bill Withers' "Lean On Me."
  • Thus, THE ONE THING actually includes a few things: soulful singing, first-rate pop songs, and the strong personality of an artist whose fans love every note he sings.
Professional Reviews
Stereo Review (3/94, p.96) - Performance: Strong But Sensitive / Recording: Sensitive But Strong - "...He's a musical true believer, without doubts even when he sings about doubt...."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The One Thing on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Back to top