Now Australia's Biggest Toy Shop

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Oscar Peterson Trio Plus One

Album: Oscar Peterson Trio Plus One
# Song Title   Time
1)    Brotherhood Of Man More Info... 3:35
2)    Jim More Info... 3:01
3)    Blues For Smedley More Info... 6:54
4)    Roundalay More Info... 3:55
5)    Mumbles More Info... 2:00
6)    Mack The Knife More Info... 5:16
7)    They Didn't Believe Me More Info... 4:18
8)    Squeaky's Blues More Info... 3:28
9)    I Want A Little Girl More Info... 5:09
10)    Incoherent Blues More Info... 2:42
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Oscar Peterson (piano); Clark Terry (vocals, trumpet, flugelhorn); Ray Brown (bass); Ed Thigpen (drums).
  • Recorded in New York, New York on August 17, 1964. Includes liner notes by Oscar Peterson.
  • Personnel: Oscar Peterson (piano); Clark Terry (vocals, trumpet, flugelhorn); Ray Brown (bass); Ed Thigpen (drums).
  • Recorded at RCA Studios, Toronto, Canada on February 26, 1964. Originally released on Mercury (60975). Includes liner notes by Oscar Peterson & Peter Pullman.
  • This is part of Verve's Master Edition series.
  • Personnel: Oscar Peterson (piano); Ray Brown (bass guitar); Ed Thigpen (drums).
  • Some guest soloists get overshadowed by Oscar Peterson's technical prowess, while others meet him halfway with fireworks of their own; trumpeter Clark Terry lands in the latter camp on this fine 1964 session. With drummer Ed Thigpen and bassist Ray Brown providing solid support, the two soloists come off as intimate friends over the course of the album's ten ballad and blues numbers. And while Peterson shows myriad moods, from Ellington's impressionism on slow cuts like "They Didn't Believe Me" to fleet, single-line madness on his own "Squeaky's Blues," Terry goes in for blues and the blowzy on originals like "Mumbles" and "Incoherent Blues"; the trumpeter even airs out some of his singularly rambling and wonderful scat singing in the process. Other highlights include the rarely covered ballad "Jim" and the even more obscure "Brotherhood of Man" from the Broadway musical How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying. A very engaging and enjoyable disc. ~ Stephen Cook
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Jazz » Jazz Instrument » General
Home » Music » Jazz » Jazz Instrument » Bebop
Home » Music » Jazz » Jazz Instrument » Piano
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Oscar Peterson Trio Plus One on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top