Absolutely Australia's Lowest Prices

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Out of All This Blue *

Album: Out of All This Blue *
# Song Title   Time
1)    Do We Chose Who We Love
2)    If I Was Your Boyfriend
3)    Santa Fe
4)    If the Answer Is Yeah
5)    Love Walks In
6)    Hiphopstrumental 4 (Scatman)
7)    New York I Love You
8)    Connemara Fox, The
9)    Girl in the Window Chair, The
10)    Morning Came Too Soon
1)    Hammerhead Bar, The
2)    Mister Charisma
3)    Nashville, Tennnessee
4)    Man, What a Woman
5)    Kinky's History Lesson
6)    Monument
7)    Girl in a Kayak
8)    Rokudenashiko
9)    Didn't We Walk on Water
10)    Elegant Companion, The
11)    Skyclad Lady
12)    Yamaben
13)    Payo Payo Chin
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • If you're a longtime Waterboys fan who often wonders when Mike Scott is going to get funky -- well, your time has finally come. Stylistic shape-shifting has long been part of Scott's modus operandi, but with the Waterboys' ambitious 2017's double set Out of All This Blue, Scott and his collaborators have jumped headfirst into R&B and funk rhythms, with drum loops and hip-hop-influenced production dominating many of the tracks. This being a Waterboys album, there's an eclectic variety of sounds and genres here, including more familiar detours into Celtic, country, and folk-influenced tracks and a few numbers that focus on Japanese culture (part of the album was recorded in Tokyo). But the majority of the album finds Scott and company belatedly embracing dance rhythms, and he takes to the funk more comfortably than one might expect. When Scott sings about the rough-and-tumble side of life in New York City or his pursuit of his latest romantic obsession, his passion lines up perfectly with the snap of the backing tracks, and this album's take on hip-hop rhythms is thankfully organic and non-gimmicky. Out of All This Blue feels a bit overstuffed at 23 tracks spread over two discs, but precious little of it feels like filler, with even the weakest tracks adding to the overall flavor of the album. And Scott remains a great storyteller, whether he's telling a woman why he should be her boyfriend, debating Memphis vs. Nashville, enjoying a night in a dive bar, or telling off Keith Richards. (And Scott responding to an insult to Neville Chamberlain from Kinky Friedman might sound like some sort of joke, but "Kinky's History Lesson" turns out to be one of the strongest and most moving tracks on this album.) Overall, Out of All This Blue is a bold experiment that succeeds, and once again demonstrates the depth and breadth of Mike Scott's talent. ~ Mark Deming
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Classical
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Out of All This Blue * on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top