Now Australia's Biggest Toy Store

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

The Parallax II

Album: The Parallax II: Future Sequence [Digipak]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Goodbye to Everything
2)    Astral Body
3)    Lay Your Ghosts to Rest
4)    Autumn
5)    Extremophile Elite
6)    Parallax
7)    Black Box, The
8)    Telos
9)    Bloom
10)    Melting City
11)    Silent Flight Parliament
12)    Goodbye to Everything Reprise
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Amos Williams (spoken vocals); Ricky Alexander (violin); Walter Fancourt (flute, bass clarinet, tenor saxophone); Julian Hinshaw (tuba).
  • Audio Mixer: Jamie King.
  • Recording information: The Basement Studios, Winston-Salem, NC (05/2012-06/2012).
  • Editor: Kevin King .
  • Between the Buried and Me's 2007 album, Colors, marked a departure for the band from the expansive technical death metal of its earlier career into more progressive rock-influenced territory. Released in 2009, The Great Misdirect refined BTBAM's new approach, and their split from Victory Records that year afforded them the freedom to further push the limits of progressive death metal. The companion piece to last year's The Parallax: Hypersleep Dialogues, The Parallax II: Future Sequence is the slickest and best-paced of their latter-era releases -- and at over 70 minutes in length, the sugary-sweet choruses and serene jazz-rock interludes are necessary to break up the relentless energy of tracks like "Astral Body." Conscious of making the record flow more seamlessly, The Parallax II begins with "Goodbye to Everything," a short intro piece on acoustic guitar that sees frontman Tommy Rogers sing a layered melody so sickly sweet it could almost be lifted from a fun. record, while interludes like "Autumn" and "Parallax," as well as the "Goodbye to Everything Reprise" outro, proceed along similar lines. The meat of the album is closer to what we've come to expect from the North Carolina five-piece -- ten-plus-minute death metal epics, of which "Melting City" and the sci-fi-themed "Extremophile Elite" are the picks. Rogers' guttural growls sound more menacing than ever, and what the album lacks in originality it makes up for with feverishly inventive riffs and melodies, making The Parallax II: Future Sequence the band's most inspired release since Alaska. ~ Dave Donnelly
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Parallax II: Future Sequence [Digipak] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top