Absolutely Australia's Lowest Prices

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Parking Lot Symphony *

Album: Parking Lot Symphony *
# Song Title   Time
1)    Laveau Dirge No.1
2)    It Ain't No Use
3)    Parking Lot Symphony
4)    Dirty Water
5)    Here Come the Girls
6)    Tripped Out Slim
7)    Familiar
8)    No Good Time
9)    Where It At?
10)    Fanfare
11)    Like a Dog
12)    Laveau Dirge Finale
13)    Finale
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Audio Mixer: Seth Atkins Horan .
  • Recording information: Esplanade Studios, New Orleans, LA.
  • Arrangers: Chris Seefried; Troy Andrews.
  • On his fourth studio effort and first for Blue Note Records, 2017's Parking Lot Symphony, New Orleans singer, songwriter, and brass wizard Troy Andrews (aka Trombone Shorty) fully embraces the organic '70s-style R&B he's heretofore only touched on. Ever since officially debuting in 2010 with Backatown, Andrews has moved ever closer to that '70s soul aesthetic with each subsequent album. Backatown even featured contributions from both Lenny Kravitz and legendary New Orleans pianist Allen Toussaint. In fact, his previous effort, 2013's Say That to Say This, had a similarly old-school bent courtesy of neo-soul master and co-producer Raphael Saadiq. But for Parking Lot Symphony, Andrews dives into the sound full-force, paired with producer Chris Seefried (Fitz & the Tantrums, Haley Reinhart, Andra Day) on a set of songs that bring to mind the earthy, vinyl-laden vibe of '70s artists like New Orleans own the Meters. Heralding this vintage approach are several well-chosen covers, like the Meters' 1974 Santana-style groover "It Ain't No Use," and Toussaint's New Orleans funk jammer "Here Come the Girls" (originally recorded in 1970 by Ernie K. Doe). Andrews channels new life into both tunes with his vibrant jazz- and brass-infused arrangements -- ones that don't so much reimagine the originals as re-energize them with a live-in-the-studio vibe and a youthful zeal. Even his originals here, like the joyous, choir-backed title track and the yearning, organ-steeped ballad "No Good Time," find him working in the nuanced harmonic colors and hip-swaying lyricism of band's like Earth, Wind & Fire and Stevie Wonder. And yet it would be reductive to simply describe the album as "retro." Longtime fans will appreciate that Andrews hasn't abandoned his crossover, hip-hop-inflected sound, just integrated it deftly into songs like the buzz-bass heavy "Familiar" and minor key-tinged "Where It At?," tracks that nobody would think twice about hearing churn out of the car stereo in 1977. Also, as with past Trombone Shorty albums, he leaves plenty of room for enthusiastic, mid-song trombone and trumpet improvisations. Andrews even ambitiously bookends the album with two New Orleans funeral parade marches, showcasing his bluesy phrasing and clarion brass tone. Ultimately, Parking Lot Symphony is one of Trombone Shorty's most balanced productions, equal parts New Orleans R&B sophistication and loose, block party fun. ~ Matt Collar
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Jazz
Home » Music » R&B » Funk
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Parking Lot Symphony * on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top