Absolutely Australia's Lowest Prices

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

The Paul Butterfield Blues Band

Album: The Paul Butterfield Blues Band
# Song Title   Time
1)    Born in Chicago
2)    Shake Your Money-Maker
3)    Blues with a Feeling
4)    Thank You Mr. Poobah
5)    I Got My Mojo Working
6)    Mellow Down Easy
7)    Screamin'
8)    Our Love Is Drifting
9)    Mystery Train
10)    Last Night
11)    Look Over Yonders Wall
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Paul Butterfield (vocals, harmonica); Sam Lay (vocals, drums); Elvin Bishop (guitar); Mike Bloomfield (slide guitar); Jerome Arnold (bass); Mark Naftalin (organ).
  • Includes liner notes by Pete Welding.
  • Paul Butterfield/The Paul Butterfield Blues Band: Michael Bloomfield (slide guitar).
  • Personnel: Paul Butterfield (vocals, harmonica); Elvin Bishop (vocals, guitar); Mark Naftalin (organ); Sam Lay (drums).
  • Liner Note Author: Pete Welding.
  • Director: Paul Rothchild.
  • Photographers: Leonard Heicklen; William S. Harvey .
  • The '60s Blues Revival begins here. Calling this album influential is an understatement akin to calling the Grand Canyon a rut; suffice to say that an entire generation of musicians (mostly young and white) heard this and had their lives changed forever. In fact, for at least a year after the album's release in 1965, it was impossible to walk down the hall of any college dorm in America without hearing one of the songs here echoing from somebody's room.
  • Heard today, the thing still packs a wallop. Butterfield's harmonica and vocals are utterly idiomatic, without a hint of minstrelsy. Michael Bloomfield's lead guitar is stinging and eloquent, and the rhythm section, on loan from Howling Wolf, swings like mad. The only fly in the ointment is the fairly primitive production, which often makes Mark Naftalin's keyboards sound like a horde of angry bees, but that's a small criticism in the face of blues playing as passionate and accomplished as this. A genuine classic.
Professional Reviews
Q (p.126) - 3 stars out of 5 - "[H]e sang and played the blues like a natural..."

Mojo (Publisher) (p.69) - "The album opened a new door to the entire blues-rock genre."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Blues
Home » Music » Blues » Chicago Blues
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Paul Butterfield Blues Band on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top