SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range


Album: Peace
# Song Title   Time
1)    17 Again
2)    I Saved the World Today
3)    Power to the Meek
4)    Beautiful Child
5)    Anything But Strong
6)    Peace Is Just a Word
7)    I've Tried Everything
8)    I Want It All
9)    My True Love
10)    Forever
11)    Lifted
12)    Beautiful Child
13)    17 Again
14)    I Saved the World Today
15)    Something in the Air Tonight
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Eurythmics: Annie Lennox (vocals); Dave Stewart (guitar).
  • Additional personnel includes: Chris Sharrock (strings); Andy Wright (keyboards, percussion, programming); Chucho Merchan, Dave Catlin-Birch (bass); Pete Lewinson, Steve Lewinson (drums); Pro Arte Orchestra Of London.
  • After releasing 1989's WE TOO ARE ONE, Dave Stewart and Annie Lennox took a break from Eurythmics in order to pursue outside projects. During their time apart in the '90s, Lennox released two solo albums while Stewart wrote songs and produced other people, composed scores, and fronted the Spiritual Cowboys. On their first record in a decade, Eurythmics return with a collection of lush pop tracks caressed by Annie Lennox's sultry vocals flowing over Dave Stewart's enthralling studio arrangements.
  • The mood struck on the Eurythmics' ninth studio album is one of warm, organic ambiance akin to William Orbit's work with Madonna. Songs such as the airy "17 Again" (which finds Lennox cleverly referencing their hit "Sweet Dreams") and the Burt Bacharach-flavored "I Saved the World Today" are sophisticated, unpretentious pop compositions light years beyond the band's early synth-pop work. Balancing out PEACE's sedate moments are such up-tempo tracks as the wah-wah guitar-driven "Power to the Meek" and the equally rocking "I Want It All," a track punctuated by Lennox's exuberant whoops. One of the most triumphant moments on PEACE is "Forever," a sweeping number wrapped in a George Martin-inspired orchestral arrangement straight off a late-period Beatles album.
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone (11/25/99, p.98) - 3 stars out of 5 - "...Lyrical echoes of their failed romance and hugely successful partnership resonate throughout PEACE....[It] charms with repeated listenings..."

Entertainment Weekly (10/22/99, p.88) - "...delicate pop, guitar-fueled rock, waves of backing vocals, even horns and strings. These [are] dreamy, sophisticated songs..." - Rating: B+

Q (11/99, p.120) - 4 stars out of 5 - "...all the drive and energy of a new band....a consistently strong set that can be bought with confidence."

CMJ (11/22/99, p.28) - "...Lennox's powerfully expressive voice and Stewart's production brilliance still carry the duo on PEACE....[their] ability to write interesting, uncommonly heartfelt songs is re-ignited..."

Mojo (Publisher) (11/99, p.109) - "...reveals subtle and canny tweaking; guitars...indicative of a smart appraisal of the marketplace that;s not only post Britpop/indie rock...but also post-Natalie Imbruglia....Best here is 'Seventeen Again''s the pathos of this...that cuts deepest."
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
This title is unavailable for purchase as none of our regular suppliers have stock available. If you are the publisher, author or distributor for this item, please visit this link.
Back to top