Absolutely Australia's Lowest Prices

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Pentatonic Wars and Love Songs

Album: Pentatonic Wars and Love Songs
# Song Title   Time
1)    Looking for Some Heat
2)    Sunday Morning
3)    Silver Dollar on My Head
4)    Lost My Guitar
5)    I'm Not Mysterious
6)    Young Girl Down the Street
7)    Country Boy, Girl
8)    Talking About It Blues
9)    Walk on Water
10)    Mama's Best Friend
11)    Maybe Yeah
12)    Dagger by My Side
13)    If You Hope
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Otis Taylor (vocals, guitar, banjo); Cassie Taylor (vocals, background vocals); Jonn Richardson, Harry Tuft, Gary Moore (guitar); Jason Moran (piano); Brian Juan (organ); Nasheet Waits (drums); James Michael Taylor (background vocals).
  • Audio Mixer: Matt Sandoski.
  • Recording information: Immersive Studios, Boulder, CO; Sphere Studio, London, England.
  • Photographer: Len Irish.
  • Arranger: Otis Taylor.
  • Otis Taylor doesn't suffer fools lightly, and his songs are full of defiant reclamations of history and tender vignettes of people struggling to survive in hostile cultural territory. Now he wants to talk about love. Taylor began his career playing bluegrass banjo, but switched to guitar (and the blues) in the late '60s, working in various bands and as a solo artist before walking away from it all 1978. He re-emerged a couple decades later in the mid-'90s with an utterly unique and modal-driven blues style that made full use of his gritty singing voice; his quirky songwriting skills; and his raw, driving guitar and banjo playing. Taylor really hasn't been idle since, and Pentatonic Wars and Love Songs is his tenth studio album in 14 years. Following on the heels of 2008's Recapturing the Banjo (which did exactly what its title says), this set finds Taylor turning his attention to love, but these aren't love songs in the normal sense, and more often than not these songs chart the course of love in dramatically unstable and even dangerous relationships. No moon and June stuff. Not even close. Much bleaker. The album opens with "Looking for Some Heat," and yeah, it's about love, but things don't end well at all. "Lost My Guitar," which is all about the loss of love in the truest sense, uses guitars and fatal car accidents as central metaphors. Nope, love isn't all roses in Taylor's view of things. And the sound of this album is different, too, with frequent use of solo cornet, giving these tracks a kind of dark, jazzy feel, particularly on cuts like "I'm Not Mysterious" that feature jazz pianist Jason Moran and Ron Miles' cornet. Irish blues-rock guitarist Gary Moore pops up on three cuts, and Taylor's daughter and bassist Cassie Taylor handles lead vocals on a few songs, including the striking and wonderful "Maybe Yeah." Pentatonic Wars and Love Songs ends up being an urgent, stubborn, and sometimes overly dark view of love in all of its unavoidable permutations. In other words, it's exactly the kind of album of love songs you'd expect from Taylor, one that is direct and as baffling as it is challenging. ~ Steve Leggett
Professional Reviews
Spin (p.92) - "PENTATONIC WARS is a sprawling folk and jazz set featuring everything from cornet to cello to djembe drums as backing for Taylor's resilient rasp."

Down Beat (p.47) - 3.5 stars out of 5 -- "With just a few words, often repeated obsessively, he sketches a situation then gnaws down the emotional bone."

JazzTimes (p.70) - "[N]o pointers are necessary to appreciate Taylor's storytelling cunning and craft."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Pentatonic Wars and Love Songs on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top