Now Australia's Biggest Toy Shop

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Peter Gabriel [1] [Digipak]

Album: Peter Gabriel [1] [Digipak]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Moribund the Burgermeister
2)    Solsbury Hill
3)    Modern Love
4)    Excuse Me
5)    Humdrum
6)    Slowburn
7)    Waiting for the Big One
8)    Down the Dolce Vita
9)    Here Comes the Flood
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel includes: Peter Gabriel, Kate Bush (vocals); Robert Fripp (guitar); Roy Bittan, Larry Fast (keyboards); Tony Levin (bass); Phil Collins (drums); Dick Wagner, Jim Maelen, Steve Hunter, Allan Schwartzberg.
  • Recorded at The Soundstage, Toronto, Canada.
  • Digitally remastered by Tony Cousins (Metropolis).
  • Personnel includes: Peter Gabriel, Kate Bush (vocals); Robert Fripp (guitar); Roy Bittan, Larry Fast (keyboards); Tony Levin (bass); Phil Collins (drums); Dick Wagner, Jim Maelen, Steve Hunter, Allan Schwartzberg.
  • All tracks have been digitally remastered.
  • Personnel: Peter Gabriel (flute, recorder, keyboards); Steve Hunter (guitar, acoustic guitar, electric guitar); Robert Fripp (electric guitar, classical guitar, banjo); Tony Levin (tuba); Jozef Chirowski (keyboards); Larry "Wires" Fast (synthesizer, programming); Allan Schwartzberg (drums); Jimmy Maelen (percussion); Dick Wagner (background vocals).
  • Audio Remasterer: Tony Cousins.
  • Recording information: Morgan Studios, London, England (1976); Olympic Studios, London, England (1976); The Soundstage, Toronto, Canada (1976).
  • Introduction by: Mic Smith .
  • Photographers: Brad Owen; Armando Gallo; Terry O'Neill ; Larry Fast.
  • In 1977, two years after leaving Genesis, Peter Gabriel emerged as a solo artist with the first of three records entitled PETER GABRIEL. He was anxious for a change of musical direction, but after years of fronting one of the foremost art-rock outfits of the era, he hadn't exactly lost his taste for the dramatic. On his own, Gabriel was free to explore his own personal obsessions. Consequently the work is rife with images of isolation, paranoia, and the apocalypse. Aided by the London Symphony Orchestra and the cavernous production of Bob Ezrin (Kiss, Alice Cooper), the record reaches dramatic peaks of symphonic rock.
  • Musically, Gabriel was clearly in experimental mode. The collection opens with the cheery yet menacing "Moribund the Burgermeister" (which sounds like a twisted fairy tale), followed by the hit "Solsbury Hill," a lilting acoustic ballad which obliquely addresses Gabriel's departure from Genesis and is an enduring fixture on FM radio. "Modern Love," with its larynx-shredding vocal, rocks as hard as anything Gabriel ever recorded. The just plain odd "Excuse Me," Gabriel's sole foray into barbershop quartet territory, has old-world charm, and "Here Comes the Flood" is Gabriel at his doomiest.
Professional Reviews
Entertainment Weekly (7/12/02, pp.84-5) - "...Reveals a surprisingly logical progression...Gabriel sharpens his writing and expands his sonic scope with every release..." Rating: A

Q (6/02, p.137) - 3 stars out of 5 - "...[Gabriel's] music holds up rather well..."

Mojo (Publisher) (6/02, p.126) - "...Quaintly raced off shouting...that it was different [than Genesis]..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Art Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Peter Gabriel [1] [Digipak] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top