Australasia's Biggest Online Store

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Phoenix [Bonus Tracks] [Remaster]

Album: Phoenix [Bonus Tracks] [Remaster]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Flight of the Phoenix
2)    Trying to Get Away
3)    Someone
4)    She Got to Move Me
5)    Rain Keeps Fallin'
6)    I Just Gotta Know
7)    So You Won't Have to Die
8)    Freedom Is for Children
9)    Gotta Find Me a Better Day
10)    Rock 'N Roll Soul
11)    Flight of the Phoenix - (2002 Remix With Extended Ending, 2002 Remix With Extended Ending, previously unreleased, bonus track)
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Grand Funk Railroad: Mark Farner (vocals, guitar, harmonica, organ); Don Brewer (vocals, drums, congas, percussion); Mel Schacher (bass).
  • Additional personnel: Doug Kershaw (electric fiddle); Craig Frost (piano, Clavinet, harpsichord, organ).
  • Recorded at Sound Shop, Nashville, Tennessee. Originally released on Capitol (11099). Includes liner notes by Steve Roeser.
  • All tracks have been digitally remastered.
  • Personnel: Mark Farner (vocals, guitar, harmonica, organ); Don Brewer (vocals, drums, congas, percussion); Craig Frost (piano, harpsichord, Clavinet, organ).
  • Audio Mixer: Jimmy Hoyson.
  • Liner Note Author: Steve Roeser.
  • Recording information: Sound Shop, Nashville, TN (07/24/1972-07/28/1972).
  • Illustrator: Joe Garnett.
  • Photographer: Lorrie Sullivan.
  • Unknown Contributor Roles: Yasuhito Kitai; Kuni Takeuchi.
  • Having scored four consecutive Top Ten albums in the previous two years, Grand Funk Railroad may not have seemed to casual observers like a band who needed to rise phoenix-like from the ashes, but the title of the band's seventh album referred to its re-emergence after a litigious split from manager/producer Terry Knight. Now, they were producing themselves, and they added organist Craig Frost, credited here as a sideman, though he went on to join the band formally. The biggest change, however, was a musical maturity. After releasing five studio albums in a little over two years, Grand Funk waited more than a year before releasing Phoenix, and in that time they managed to come up with more variety than they had displayed before. "Someone," for example, was a surprisingly gentle ballad, and "Rain Keeps Fallin'" was stronger melodically than most of songwriter Mark Farner's previous efforts. Unlike earlier albums, Phoenix didn't seem like one rudimentary rocker after another, which made it Grand Funk's most listenable album so far. And that's not to say it didn't rock, as the leadoff instrumental, "Flight of the Phoenix," and the Top 40 hit that closed the set, "Rock 'n Roll Soul," demonstrated. Unfortunately, Farner's lyrical abilities had not increased, while his self-importance had. "I Just Gotta Know," "So You Won't Have to Die," and "Freedom Is for Children" all contained political exhortations expressed in simple-minded terms, the worst being "So You Won't Have to Die," in which Farner, later to become a Christian artist, claimed Jesus had spoken to him on the subject of overpopulation. After such cringe-inducing foolishness, the band's return to rocking with "Rock 'n Roll Soul" could only be welcomed. ~ William Ruhlmann
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Hard Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Phoenix [Bonus Tracks] [Remaster] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top