Download the Free Fishpond App!
Download on the App Store

Android App on Google play

Already own it?

Sell Yours
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock


Artist: Eric Clapton

Elsewhere $19.54 $13.50   Save $6.04 (31%)
Free shipping Australia wide
Ships from UK
New or Used: $19.95
Order Now for Christmas with e-Gift
Register or sign-in to rate and get recommendations.
Label: Reprise
Album: Pilgrim
# Song Title   Time
1)    My Father's Eyes
2)    River of Tears
3)    Pilgrim
4)    Broken Hearted
5)    One Chance
6)    Circus
7)    Goin' Down Slow
8)    Fall Like Rain
9)    Born in Time
10)    Sick & Tired
11)    Needs His Woman
12)    She's Gone
13)    You Were There
14)    Inside of Me

Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Eric Clapton (vocals, guitar); Ruth Kelly-Clapton (spoken vocals); Andy Fairweather-Low (guitar); London Session Orchestra (strings); Paul Brady (tin whistle, background vocals); Joe Sample (piano); Paul Carrack (Wurlitzer piano, Hammond B-3 organ); Chris Stainton (Hammond B-3 organ); Simon Climie (keyboards, synthesizer, programming, background vocals); Greg Phillinganes (keyboards); Louis Jardim (bass, percussion); Nathan East, Pino Palladino, Dave Bronze (bass); Steve Gadd (drums); Paul Waller (programming); Kenny "Babyface" Edmonds, Tony Rich, Chyna (background vocals).
  • Recorded at Olympic Studio, London, England, Ocean's Way Studio, Los Angeles, California.
  • PILGRIM was nominated for the 1999 Grammy Award for Best Pop Album. "My Father's Eyes" won the 1999 Grammy Award for Best Male Pop Vocal Performance.
  • Personnel: Eric Clapton (vocals, guitar); Andy Fairweather Low (guitar); London Session Orchestra (strings); Paul Brady (tin whistle, background vocals); Joe Sample (piano); Simon Climie (keyboards, programming, keyboard programming, drum programming, background vocals); Greg Phillinganes (keyboards); Dave Bronze, Nathan East, Pino Palladino (bass guitar); Steve Gadd (drums); Louis Jardim, Luis Jardim (percussion); Paul Waller (programming, drum programming); Chyna, Kenneth Edmonds , Tony Rich (background vocals).
  • Audio Mixers: Alan Douglas; Mick Guzauski.
  • Recording information: OIympic, London, England.
  • Illustrator: Yoshiyuki Sadamoto.
  • Unknown Contributor Role: Mike Higham.
  • Since donning an Armani suit back in the decadent '80s, Eric Clapton's music has become more polished as he's gotten older. Despite recording the all-blues FROM THE CRADLE collection in 1994, E.C. has either gone unplugged, collaborated with silky-smooth soulsters such as Babyface, or dabbled with current electronic trends. PILGRIM finds Slowhand doing all of the above on his first album of original material in nearly a decade. Unlike many older artists dipping their toes into the electronic pool, Clapton and co-producer Simon Climie's restrained use of programming gilds rather than overwhelms these original numbers.
  • In a welcome turn, Clapton wrote or co-wrote every song with the exception of Bob Dylan's "Born In Time" and "Going Down Slow," a St. Louis Jimmy blues nugget. Joined by Babyface on the former, Clapton gives both songs a lite-jazz treatment that meshes well with a burnished vocal style that sounds as if he's been listening to Curtis Mayfield recently. Complementing Clapton's emotive vocalizing is his always formidable guitar playing. Whether he politely funks it up on "She's Gone" or indulges his blues jones on the slow shuffle of "Sick And Tired," Eric Clapton's musical development continues to be a steady pilgrimage into the new millenium.

Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone (3/19/98, pp.63-64) - 4 Stars (out of 5) - "...Clapton's most ambitious, introspective work since his days with the legendary, lacerating Derek and the Dominos....incorporates old-school R&B, orchestral maneuvers and dashes of (gulp!) electronica..."

Producer:Eric Clapton; Simon Climie
Format:CD (0 Disc); Stereo
Studio/Live: Studio
Release Date:9 March, 1998
Guest Artist: Babyface; Tony Rich; Paul Brady; Steve Gadd; Simon Climie; Andy Fairweather Low; Paul Carrack; Joe Sample


1. My Father's Eyes

2. River Of Tears

3. Pilgrim

4. Broken Hearted

5. One Chance

6. Circus

7. Going Down Slow

8. Fall Like Rain

9. Born In Time

10. Sick And Tired

11. Needs His Woman

12. She's Gone

13. You Were There

14. Inside Of Me

Tell a friend

Their Email:

Sell Yours

Already own this item?
Sell Yours and earn some cash. It's fast and free to list! (Learn More.)

1 review(s)
All Reviews
Richard on
Basically, this is his worst album. Fairly dull, almost schmaltzy pop stuff. This is a compac disc that is certainly to be avoided unless 1) smchamltzy pop is certainly your thing, or 2) you found it in one of those nice $3.95 or $4.95 bins. Given it is Eric Clapton, and more recent, I doubt that eventuality is very likely, however.

Review this Product


Related Searches


Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners

You can earn a 5% commission by selling Pilgrim on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep!



Are you the Author/Publisher? Improve sales by submitting additional information on this title.


This item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.