Now Australia's Biggest Toy Shop

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

The Plateau Phase

Album: The Plateau Phase
# Song Title   Time
1)    Are You Ready?
2)    Travel Time
3)    Force and the Wisdom, The
4)    Wind Season, The
5)    Death From Above
6)    We Move Through the Plateau Phase
7)    Bardo Plane
8)    Chill
9)    Federation
10)    Simon's Ghost
11)    Presence, The
12)    Concorde Square
13)    Sexus
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • All tracks have been digitally remastered.
  • Recording information: Cargo Studio, Rochdale (01/1981); Little Big One Studio, Brussels (01/1981); Strawberry 2, Stockport (01/1981); Cargo Studio, Rochdale (01/1982); Little Big One Studio, Brussels (01/1982); Strawberry 2, Stockport (01/1982); Cargo Studio, Rochdale (09/1981); Little Big One Studio, Brussels (09/1981); Strawberry 2, Stockport (09/1981).
  • The one studio album Crispy Ambulance put out over its career, The Plateau Phase boldly aimed to stand out as an experimental rock album and achieved its goal with style and power. With tips of the hat to everyone from early-'70s Pink Floyd and aggro Krautrock to the later song-smashings of Throbbing Gristle, The Plateau Phase isn't an out-and-out masterpiece, but comes awfully close. If anything, the comparisons at the time of release to Joy Division resulted from the label association -- as a singer, Alan Hempsall had a lighter tone than Ian Curtis, while Keith Darbyshire's bass is hardly trying to clone Peter Hook's inimitable surge. The Plateau Phase is certainly a dark, moody experience though, and Chris Nagle turned out to be as crucial for setting a sonic mood for the Crispies as Martin Hannett did for Joy Division. Given the similar influences, the best contemporary band to draw comparisons to might be early Public Image Ltd., but with much less dub and more general melancholy. The mix is often thick, echoing, and understated, only coming up for air with some instruments at times, if at all. Consider "Travel Time," where the brisk drum hits lead the way as the guitar, bass, and especially Hempsall quietly lurk beneath, forcing attention more closely onto them as a result. Hempsall in general has some lyrics perhaps too readily calling to mind "lost in the wilderness" post-punk scenarios already becoming clich‚d, but his restrained, dreamlike delivery makes them work better than a flat, declamatory style. Even the occasional wails are set back, strange and curious to hear. Song titles -- "Death From Above," "We Move Through the Plateau," "Simon's Ghost" -- further heighten the dark, almost psychedelic mood. Call it goth if one wants, but there's more going on here than Batcave-inspired shenanigans. Later CD reissues included the "Live on a Hot August Night" and "Sexus" singles as bonus tracks. ~ Ned Raggett
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Plateau Phase on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top