Absolutely Australia's Lowest Prices

Sell Your Old Stuff for Cash. It's Easy & Free to List. Get Started Now.

Please Believe It

Album: Please Believe It
# Song Title   Time
1)    Good Punk, The
2)    Mic My Mind
3)    Cover Me
4)    Delta '88
5)    Toucher, The
6)    Rising Up Is Hard Work (Let's Just Sit Here)
7)    Brutal Enigma
8)    Never Ending Cycle
9)    Boston
10)    Science Reasons
Product Details


Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Joanne Dennis (vocals); Cory Race (drums).
  • Audio Mixers: Cory Race; Marcus Lindsay; Spady Brannan; Party of Helicopters.
  • Recording information: Moondog Studio (08/2002).
  • Few releases from 2003, and virtually none from high-profile acts, come anywhere near the mix of passion and originality achieved on Please Believe It. The production is raw and the instrumentation mercilessly spare, but by overlaying contradictory elements -- punk intensity and prog complexity, thrashing beats and dispassionate vocals that track extraordinarily elusive melodies -- the Helicopters score one bull's-eye after another. Elaborate structures challenge the band to play with precision and without losing any momentum; time and again they pull this off, sometimes by inserting intense episodes amidst the tumble of chords and fragmented rhythms, as in the single-note guitar squall that crops up suddenly in "Mic My Mind." But it's not just the writing that distinguishes these efforts; without the right chops, most bands would be stranded within these stark textures and contrapuntal tangles. Cory Race deserves particular credit for pumping energy through the elaborate channels mapped in these tracks; you won't find more awesome drumming in the modern rock catalog than what he does on "Delta 88." Critics have compared the Helicopters to a bewildering array of recent bands, but to really grasp Please Believe It you need to go all the way back to acts like Gentle Giant; only then will you have a context vast and deep enough to appreciate what these lo-fi phenoms have accomplished. ~ Robert L. Doerschuk
Professional Reviews
Magnet (6-7/03, p.103) - "...A combination of Iron Maiden, Yes, Dinosaur Jr, and Ride....10 concise rock songs without a bum in the bunch..."

CMJ (04/07/03, p.8) - "...A body-rockin' combo of furious bass revving, precision guitar tweaking and constant drum pummeling that will have you name-dropping such luminaries as Quicksand and Smashing Pumpkins..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Please Believe It on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top