Download the Free Fishpond App!
Download on the App Store

Android App on Google play
Promised Land [US Bonus Tracks]

Already own it?

Sell Yours
Home » Music » Easy Listening » Oldies » Rock 'N' Roll

Promised Land [US Bonus Tracks]

Artist: Presley Elvis (Recorded By)

Elsewhere $22.21 $11.37   Save $10.84 (49%)
Free shipping Australia wide
Ships from UK
Order now for Christmas delivery
Register or sign-in to rate and get recommendations.
Label: RCA
Album: Promised Land [US Bonus Tracks]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Promised Land
2)    There's a Honky Tonk Angel (Who Will Take Me Back In)
3)    Help Me
4)    Mr. Songman
5)    Love Song of the Year
6)    It's Midnight
7)    Your Love's Been a Long Time Coming
8)    If You Talk in Your Sleep
9)    Thinking About You
10)    You Asked Me To
11)    Loving Arms
12)    I Got a Feelin' in My Body
13)    If That Isn't Love
14)    She Wears My Ring
15)    My Boy
16)    Spanish Eyes
17)    Talk About the Good Times
18)    Good Time Charlie's Got the Blues

Performer Notes
  • Liner Note Author: Colin Scott.
  • Recording information: Stax Studio.
  • In 1973, Elvis Presley booked sessions at Memphis' famous Stax Studios, where Booker T. & the MGs, Otis Redding, and numerous other soul stars had recorded hits. Unfortunately, initial efforts to have Presley work with the Stax stable of musicians yielded few usable tracks, and Elvis soon called in his stage band to finish the sessions. The results can be heard on the albums GOOD TIMES, RAISED ON ROCK, and PROMISED LAND.
  • Like most of Elvis' 70s recordings, PROMISED LAND is an eclectic mix reflecting Presley's many musical enthusiasms. The ten songs that make up this album run the gamut from country heartbreak songs ("There's a Honky Tonk Angel," "Mr. Songman") to carnal white funk ("If You Talk in Your Sleep") to heartfelt gospel ("Help Me") to schmaltzy pop ("Love Song of the Year," "It's Midnight"). While the performances on PROMISED LAND are uniformly excellent, the material is a mixed bag of strong material and throwaways. The production is extravagant, typical of Presley recordings from this era. Those interested in hearing these songs in sparer settings might want to check out RHYTHM AND COUNTRY, a collection of undubbed alternate takes from the Stax sessions.

Producer:Ernst Mikael Jorgensen (Compilation); Roger Semon (Compilation)
Format:CD (0 Disc); Stereo
Studio/Live: Studio
Release Date:24 March, 2003
Guest Artist: V.O.I.C.E.


1. Promised Land

2. There's A Honky Tonk Angel

3. Help Me

4. Mr. Songman

5. Love Song Of The Year

6. It's Midnight

7. Your Love's Been A Long Time Coming

8. If You Talk In Your Sleep

9. Thinking About You

10. You Asked Me To

11. Loving Arms

12. I Got A Feelin' In My Body

13. If That Isn't Love

14. She Wears My Ring

15. My Boy

16. Spanish Eyes

17. Talk About The Good Times

18. Good Time Charlie's Got The Blues

Tell a friend

Their Email:

Sell Yours

Already own this item?
Sell Yours and earn some cash. It's fast and free to list! (Learn More.)

1 review(s)
All Reviews
Ernest on
If someone was to only own one Elvis album then this would be it. The Stax recordings are the ultimate Elvis!

Review this Product


Related Searches


Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners

You can earn a 5% commission by selling Promised Land [US Bonus Tracks] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep!



Are you the Author/Publisher? Improve sales by submitting additional information on this title.


This item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.