Now Australia's Biggest Toy Store

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Psychic Cat

Album: Psychic Cat
# Song Title   Time
1)    Hot Lips
2)    Psychic Cat
3)    Speakers
4)    Home Honey I'm High
5)    Ideal
6)    In Praise of Shadows
7)    Graffiti Boy
8)    Groupie
9)    Voyeur
10)    Last Boy on Earth
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Kelli Ali (vocals, keyboards); Dave McCracken (guitar, keyboards, programming); Andrew Innes (guitar, keyboards); Xavier Alsina, Ben Parker, Cezhan Ambrose (guitar).
  • Audio Mixer: Steve Fitz Maurice.
  • Photographer: Metso.
  • Kelli Ali will most likely be best remembered for her work with late-'90s dance hitmakers Sneaker Pimps. Despite, or perhaps because, of her departure from the group and return to a more rock-oriented sound, she is the subject of endless fan sites and bulletin boards. It's easy to trace Ali's appeal, having also provided vox for Satoshi Tomiie and Bootsy Collins, as well as for some recent Linkin Park recordings, but her second solo album again proves that she is more than just a saucy pop vocalist.
  • The album opens with a high energy rev-up, "Hot Lipps," that follows the vein of Peaches' recent guitar-heavy forays, but most of this album settles into electronically crafted pop/rock that finds Ali singing like a less jaded Shirley Manson over tightly programmed drum beats and highly compressed guitar riffs. She sings about boys, sex and even the odd stoner joke, "Home Honey I'm High." "Ideal" not only features a histrionic guitar break with sustained notes of passion, but also Primal Scream's Andrew Innes behind the fret work, while "Voyeur" offers a sexy slink (albeit with the clich‚ quiet-loud dynamic) that is driven by a bassline too hefty for light pop consumption. "Last Boy on Earth" makes a token turn to acoustic pop, ending this record on a disappointingly predictable note, but the severely flange-laden production again keeps Ali just to the left of the mainstream. No doubt her blog-fixated fan base wants to keep it that way. ~ Joshua Glazer
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop
Home » Music » R&B » General
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Psychic Cat on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top