Absolutely Australia's Lowest Prices

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Purity Accuracy the Album

Hurry - Only 4 left in stock!
Album: Purity Accuracy the Album
# Song Title   Time
1)    Gotta Keep Movin'
2)    Baby Won't Ya [Demo with Guide Vocals]
3)    Sister Ann
4)    Over and Over
5)    Train Music
6)    Pledge Song
7)    Tonight
8)    Human Being Lawnmover
9)    Looking at You - (live)
10)    Born Under a Bad Sign - (live)
11)    I Want You Right Now - (live)
12)    Motor City Is Burning - (live)
13)    Black to Comm - (live)
14)    Revolutionary Blues - (live)
15)    Skunk (Sonically Speaking) - (live)
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Liner Note Author: Carlton P. Sandercock.
  • Recording information: First Unitarian Church, Detroit, MI; Grande Ballroom.
  • Photographer: Raeanne Rubenstein.
  • With just about every veteran rock act getting the "box-set treatment" by the early 21st century, it was only a matter of time until one of Detroit proto-punk's finest, the MC5, got their own multi-disc overview. And it finally arrived in 2004, in the form of the six-disc box, Purity Accuracy. But this sprawling comp does not follow the expected setup for your average box set (favorites mixed with unreleased rarities) -- its first few discs are comprised of demos, alternate takes, and early or forgotten tunes, while the rest focuses on live material. The more interesting outtakes on the first disc include a tender Fred "Sonic" Smith acoustic demo of "Over and Over," a kick-ass early version of "Sister Anne" dubbed "Pledge Song," and a reading of the group's psychedelic early concert favorites, "Black to Comm." Long considered one of rock's most explosive and high-energy live acts, the remaining discs include show highlights from the group's peak years (who can ever get enough of such classics as "Starship," "Borderline," and "Kick Out the Jams"?), as well as the last disc, which showcases audio highlights from the 2004 DVD, Sonic Revolution: A Celebration of the MC5 (including a version of "Sister Anne" sung by Mot”rhead's Lemmy). Purity Accuracy is obviously not aimed at the new fan, but rather at the MC5 fanatic, who needs every bit of music the band committed to tape. And for that select bunch, Purity Accuracy should supply quite a lot of mega-decibel listening pleasure. ~ Greg Prato
Professional Reviews
Uncut (p.122) - 3 stars out of 5 - "This is an exemplary package of its kind, thoughtfully designed and annotated, giving the MC5's outtakes and gigs the same weight as their 'official' work."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Purity Accuracy the Album on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top