SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Real Time

Album: Real Time
# Song Title   Time
1)    Walk Beside Me
2)    With a Memory Like Mine
3)    Weary Blues from Waiting
4)    House of Gold, A
5)    More Love
6)    There Ain't No Easy Way
7)    Little Sadie
8)    Helen of Troy, Pennsylvania
9)    Five Rooms
10)    Long Time Gone
11)    I'm Not Gonna Forget You
12)    Keep Your Lamp Trimmed and Burnin'
13)    Second Mouse, The
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Tim O'Brien (vocals, guitar, mandolin, fiddle, whistle, harmonica, trombone); Darrell Scott (vocals, guitar, banjo, fiddle; Miles Wilkinson (whistle, bells).
  • "The Second Mouse" was nominated for the 2001 Grammy Award for Best Country Instrumental Performance.
  • Personnel: Tim O'Brien (vocals, guitar, banjo, bouzouki, mandola, mandolin, fiddle, harmonica, toys); Darrell Scott (vocals, guitar, Hawaiian steel guitar, banjo, mandolin, kazoo, toys).
  • Music has occasionally been born of a couple of friends playing both new and familiar songs in a relaxed setting. Words that are often used to describe the music they make are "natural" or "unaffected." Examples would include John Hartford's Morning Bugle, Hartford, David Grisman, and Mike Seeger's Retrograss, and Tim O'Brien and Darrell Scott's Real Time. The songs on Real Time were recorded in Scott's living room over the period of a week. Both musicians play multiple instruments including banjo, mandolin, guitar, and bouzouki; they also exchange lead vocals and sing some very fine harmony. Both the song choice and songwriting add to this project. Hank Williams'"Weary Blues from Waiting" receives an acoustic revision, with both singers sharing lead vocals and providing affecting harmony. O'Brien sings a charged version of "Little Sadie" driven by Scott's aggressive guitar playing. Part of the beauty of this album is how fresh and vital these traditional songs become with these simple and straightforward arrangements. Real Time also contains a handful of refined originals, including O'Brien's "Walk Beside Me" and "I'm Not Gonna Forget You." Scott has written the impressive "There Ain't No Easy Way," complete with the same soulful singing found on his last release, Family Tree. There are even moments when Scott's vocal style reminds one of the soulful delivery of Little Feat's Lowell George. Real Time brings together two artists who love to make music and who give the impression that making good music is as simple as hanging out with friends. While this may not be how all good music is made, it has produced a gem of an album in the hands of Scott and O'Brien. Fans of both artists, and fans of good traditional and folk music, should enjoy this one. ~ Ronnie Lankford, Jr.
Professional Reviews
Q (4/01, p.108) - 3 stars out of 5 - "...Sensitive and graceful....2 stringed acoustic instruments and 2 voices raised in high harmony on 9 original songs and 4 covers..."

Mojo (Publisher) (5/01, p.104) - "...One of the finest country-folk albums around....something unaffected, natural and ephemeral..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Real Time on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top